Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

51st State: Master Set» Forums » Rules

Subject: What's the purpose of ruins? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tom Vandeweyer
Belgium
Haaltert
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So your location card got razed and is flipped over. It is now a ruins card.

I may have missed it in the rulebook, but I can't find any explanation what happens next with these ruins.

I found an action card which says you must discard a resource and a location card to do X. The Appalachian Fed. must also discard a location card to get grey contact tokens. Can ruins be used for that purpose?

Or can we do the develop action to transform a ruins card into a new location? I guess the type of the card is no longer important then?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bjørnar Løseth
Norway
Bergen
Hordaland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When you develop (build over) you can replace a ruins without minding the card type (the 1/2 icons on the left). Also remember that the developed location does _not_ have to be of the same category (action/feature/production).

EDIT: Clarification of terms
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris D
Italy
Muggiò
MB
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The appalachian federation action on the board requires you to discard a card in hand, not a location already built.

Phanthomus wrote:

Or can we do the develop action to transform a ruins card into a new location? I guess the type of the card is no longer important then?


Exactly, you can use a brick to develop the ruins into any card, ignoring the new location card type(s).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Vandeweyer
Belgium
Haaltert
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, check!
Thanks for the supersonic replies!

Where in the rules can I find this? I completely missed this.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris D
Italy
Muggiò
MB
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Page 8, top right corner, just above the red box.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bjørnar Løseth
Norway
Bergen
Hordaland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Phanthomus wrote:
Where in the rules can I find this? I completely missed this.
Bottom of page 7, top of page 8. "Note 3" is regarding ruins.

EDIT: Partially ninja'ed
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe "What I'm Playing Now" Leuzzi
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
www.whatimplayingnow.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Also keep in mind that Ruins do not count as "locations" for points during the end game scoring.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Lajeunesse
France
Paris
Ile-de-France
flag msg tools
badge
Hihihi... Stop that, I'm ticklish !
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Aviar wrote:
Also keep in mind that Ruins do not count as "locations" for points during the end game scoring.

Where is this specified ? I was wondering if they were, and considered it was better to count them at the end.

I've already asked for some kind of confirmation in this other thread : https://boardgamegeek.com/article/27434125#27434125
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brain machine
Spain
flag msg tools
mbmb
Watch this video: 15:45 https://youtu.be/tePeV10twKM?t=944
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Lajeunesse
France
Paris
Ile-de-France
flag msg tools
badge
Hihihi... Stop that, I'm ticklish !
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Perfect, thank you. ^_^
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.