Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Liberty or Death: The American Insurrection» Forums » Rules

Subject: Questions/Clarifications - French march, etc. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Scott Fischbein
United States
Sacramento
CA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi all. Had my third playthrough of this great game, and we're slowly starting to get a grasp on how everything works - we had a few questions come up, which I think we mostly answered after scouring the rules a bit, but just wanted to confirm that we got them right, especially the first two...

1) French March (rule quoted below): if the French units are moving from multiple spaces into one destination space that does not contain patriots, are they required to move with patriots from ALL the origin spaces (ie: does each origin space need to contain patriots that will accompany the French during the move)? We thought the answer was yes, but weren't sure.

Quote:
3.5.4 March. March Commands move French Regulars and
potentially Continentals after the Treaty of Alliance card
has been played. Select any spaces as the destination that already
have Patriot pieces or any space if bringing along one or more
Continentals. Pay one Resource per destination space selected.
For each destination space Continentals enter (French choice),
the Patriots must also pay one Resource. If a Limited Command
(2.3.5), all moving pieces must end in a single destination space.

PROCEDURE: Move any French Regulars into an adjacent
(1.3.6) space containing a Patriot piece or, if moving units
are in or adjacent to a Rebellion Controlled City, to another
Rebellion Controlled City or a Province adjacent to it (similar
to British March (3.2.3) except that Cities must be Rebellion
Controlled). Continentals may only accompany (through
the entire process) French Regulars 1 for 1 (any cubes that
move must reach destination spaces paid for). Continentals
accompany French Regulars at the French’s option.


2) French March question number two: Does the "destination requirement" take precedence over the description in "Procedure" - the destination requirement (quoted above) says that the destination must contain patriot pieces, but the procedure talks about moving from a rebellion controlled city to a province adjacent to it. So could French pieces that are not accompanied by Patriot pieces move from a Rebellion controlled city (which would obviously contain Patriot pieces) to a province without Patriot pieces? It seems like this is disallowed based on the "destination" description, but allowed based on the "procedure" description. We assumed that the "destination" must be determined first, and therefore that rule takes precedence, but weren't sure.

3) Brilliant Stroke - limited commands are free for active faction, but other factions must pay if appropriate (ie: French including Patriots on March, battle, etc), correct?

4) Battle w/ defending underground units - If, for example, Rebels are attacking in a space with two underground War Parties and a village defending, and Indians choose not to activate those war parties - the war parties don't contribute to the force level calculation, but still provide a +1 bonus to attacker loss level? And assuming there is sufficient defender loss level, the underground war parties cannot be removed, but the village can?

5) Terminology: Does "units" apply to fighting/mobile units only or does it also include forts/villages? It seems like this is mostly obvious (though perhaps not always consistent?) in context, but just wondering if it was explicitly stated somewhere.

Thanks for any clarifications, corrections, etc!

Best,
Scott
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
P. Fowler
United States
Indianapolis
Indiana
flag msg tools
We provide...
badge
The rich and powerful take what they want. We steal it back for you.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
scottf2 wrote:
1) French March (rule quoted below): if the French units are moving from multiple spaces into one destination space that does not contain patriots, are they required to move with patriots from ALL the origin spaces (ie: does each origin space need to contain patriots that will accompany the French during the move)? We thought the answer was yes, but weren't sure.

Only one space needs to bring along the Patriot pieces. Once that one moves, the rest can follow.

Quote:
2) French March question number two: Does the "destination requirement" take precedence over the description in "Procedure" - the destination requirement (quoted above) says that the destination must contain patriot pieces, but the procedure talks about moving from a rebellion controlled city to a province adjacent to it. So could French pieces that are not accompanied by Patriot pieces move from a Rebellion controlled city (which would obviously contain Patriot pieces) to a province without Patriot pieces? It seems like this is disallowed based on the "destination" description, but allowed based on the "procedure" description. We assumed that the "destination" must be determined first, and therefore that rule takes precedence, but weren't sure.

No. The requirement is the terms on which the French can move into a space. Regardless of where they move, it must have Patriot pieces or they must bring along one or more Continentals.

Quote:
3) Brilliant Stroke - limited commands are free for active faction, but other factions must pay if appropriate (ie: French including Patriots on March, battle, etc), correct?

I believe so. 5.3 Free Commands: "...(the Command/SA) bears no Resource cost to any Faction involved"

Quote:
4) Battle w/ defending underground units - If, for example, Rebels are attacking in a space with two underground War Parties and a village defending, and Indians choose not to activate those war parties - the war parties don't contribute to the force level calculation, but still provide a +1 bonus to attacker loss level? And assuming there is sufficient defender loss level, the underground war parties cannot be removed, but the village can?

Yes to both.

Quote:
5) Terminology: Does "units" apply to fighting/mobile units only or does it also include forts/villages? It seems like this is mostly obvious (though perhaps not always consistent?) in context, but just wondering if it was explicitly stated somewhere.

Pages 33-35 of the Rulebook are a glossary of terms. For Units: "Regulars, Tories, War Parties, Continentals and Militia but not Forts or Villages. (1.4"
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Fischbein
United States
Sacramento
CA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks a bunch for the reply - that helps clear things up. Can't believe I missed the glossary - I guess that's what I get for putting down the rulebook once I got to the "non-player rules".

One followup question below:

Turbine2k5 wrote:
scottf2 wrote:
1) French March (rule quoted below): if the French units are moving from multiple spaces into one destination space that does not contain patriots, are they required to move with patriots from ALL the origin spaces (ie: does each origin space need to contain patriots that will accompany the French during the move)? We thought the answer was yes, but weren't sure.

Only one space needs to bring along the Patriot pieces. Once that one moves, the rest can follow.


Is there a rule addressing this directly, or are you extrapolating from somewhere?

Thanks again!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Razler
msg tools
I'll try this one...

The rule says that in picking the destination space it either has to be a space with a Pat piece or ANY space if you are bringing along one or more Pat pieces. It says noting further about origin space requirements.

If you meet the one there already OR bringing at least one with you, you are good.

"Select any spaces as the destination that already
have Patriot pieces or any space if bringing along one or more
Continentals."
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
P. Fowler
United States
Indianapolis
Indiana
flag msg tools
We provide...
badge
The rich and powerful take what they want. We steal it back for you.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
scottf2 wrote:
Turbine2k5 wrote:
scottf2 wrote:
1) French March (rule quoted below): if the French units are moving from multiple spaces into one destination space that does not contain patriots, are they required to move with patriots from ALL the origin spaces (ie: does each origin space need to contain patriots that will accompany the French during the move)? We thought the answer was yes, but weren't sure.

Only one space needs to bring along the Patriot pieces. Once that one moves, the rest can follow.


Is there a rule addressing this directly, or are you extrapolating from somewhere?

This is coming from one of Oerjan's posts here. To quote: "As soon as the first French group moving there has brought in a Continental, the space contains a Patriot piece which allows other French groups (with no Continentals of their own) to go there in the same March Command."
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.