Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Marvel Heroes» Forums » Rules

Subject: Do supporting heroes have to be on the board to use ablities rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Clint Walker
United States
Mattoon
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi...the heading pretty much says it all on this one.

When you select a hero to be supporting during the planning stage, do you have to get them to a supporting space on the board for them to be eligible to use their supporting abilities?

I'd think that it would be yes for abilities that seem to be directly tied to any active hero trying to troubleshoot or fight in the nearby district.

But what about abilties such as Hulk's rampage action or Iron Man's action which simply say that you "move them to recovery?" Can I do that right from the card or do they have to be on the board?

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J Weintraub
United States
Commack
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Lock him up!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Pretty much, yeah.

Abilities such as Iron Man's don't pertain to troubleshooting, so you can just ready them and then move them back (great for generating extra plot points). But for troubleshooting, the supporting hero must be on the board, and in the same region as the hero. Easy enough, since moving a ready hero allows you to move a supporting hero for free.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Seitz
United States
Glen Allen
VA
flag msg tools
badge
Like water spilled on the ground, which cannot be recovered, so we must die. But God does not take away life; instead, he devises ways so that a banished person may not remain estranged from him. 2 Sam 14:14
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Do supporting heroes have to be on the board to use abli
Yib-Yab wrote:
Hi...the heading pretty much says it all on this one.

When you select a hero to be supporting during the planning stage, do you have to get them to a supporting space on the board for them to be eligible to use their supporting abilities?

I'd think that it would be yes for abilities that seem to be directly tied to any active hero trying to troubleshoot or fight in the nearby district.


That's how we interpret it.

Yib-Yab wrote:
But what about abilties such as Hulk's rampage action or Iron Man's action which simply say that you "move them to recovery?" Can I do that right from the card or do they have to be on the board?


We play that those abilities can be done from anywhere, either on the board or in the supporting space, although if you planned to just go to recovery it might not make sense to move them.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Erich Schneider
United States
San Francisco
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Do supporting heroes have to be on the board to use abli
To sum up how these work:

- In order to use a Support(Troubleshooting) or Support(Combat) ability, the Support hero must be on a support space for the Area containing a District where one or more Ready heroes are executing a troubleshooting action or engaging in combat, respectively. A Support hero must also be on such a Support space to grant dice boosting in combat.

- A Support(Action) ability may be used as long as the hero in question has been put on Support; it does not matter if they are still on the Support area of their card or on a Support space on the board.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.