Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Eldritch Horror» Forums » General

Subject: About an hour or so into our 1st game, and a few questions... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Van Wagoner
United States
Bluffton
South Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
(had to stop early last night, so we'll pick up again tonight or tomorrow):

1- "improving skills"...rules say we can't more than twice...does that mean no more than two of the "1/2 tokens" (max 4 improvement) or does it mean just the one token, and the best you can do is get it flipped over to the "2" side?

2- "eldritch tokens"...not sure exactly what they do?

3- "azathoth's card" says (under setup) to place an eldritch token on the green space on the omen track...the game also says to start with the "omen token/circle" on that exact space...so does the eldritch token sit inside the omen token, and then move along with it? or???

4- "location encounters"...we always have the option of drawing a "general encounter" card, instead of the amer/europe/asia/aus" ones (if we choose to), correct?

5- is there a limit to the number of assets we each can have/carry? same with spells, artifacts, etc.?

thanks! I know (from reading, and one of the videos) that using "azathoth" to start may be kind of boring, but since we're new to the game we went with it anyhow...and we're enjoying the game so far...like any other game, once we "get" the basics down then (hopefully) we'll be not only be better at it but also able to start really "playing" (vs. "learning") the game...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Xelto G
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
John_VW wrote:
(had to stop early last night, so we'll pick up again tonight or tomorrow):

1- "improving skills"...rules say we can't more than twice...does that mean no more than two of the "1/2 tokens" (max 4 improvement) or does it mean just the one token, and the best you can do is get it flipped over to the "2" side?

No, it means you can improve each skill no more than two times.

Quote:
2- "eldritch tokens"...not sure exactly what they do?

You'll be told on specific cards when to use them and what they do. Such as this next one...

Quote:
3- "azathoth's card" says (under setup) to place an eldritch token on the green space on the omen track...the game also says to start with the "omen token/circle" on that exact space...so does the eldritch token sit inside the omen token, and then move along with it? or???

It stays put on the green space of the track.

Quote:
4- "location encounters"...we always have the option of drawing a "general encounter" card, instead of the amer/europe/asia/aus" ones (if we choose to), correct?

Correct.

Quote:
5- is there a limit to the number of assets we each can have/carry? same with spells, artifacts, etc.?

No carrying limits. During any given skill check, though, you only gain a single "+X to [skill type]", no matter how many assets you have, and no matter what type of assets they are.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
William Korner
United States
Tomah
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1) You can increase each skill twice

2)Mostly used by different mythos rumor cards

3) He has a nasty ability that uses those

4) do not remember, not sure

5) no
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Larry L
United States
Stockton
California
flag msg tools
He who games with the most dice wins.
badge
I + I = 0
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
John_VW wrote:
(had to stop early last night, so we'll pick up again tonight or tomorrow):

1- "improving skills"...rules say we can't more than twice...does that mean no more than two of the "1/2 tokens" (max 4 improvement) or does it mean just the one token, and the best you can do is get it flipped over to the "2" side?


Just the one token. When you flip it to the +2, that is the second improvement.

(Each skill can be improved separately, though, so you can have one token per skill.)

Quote:


2- "eldritch tokens"...not sure exactly what they do?


They are markers that show up for different cards and components. You will know when to use them because the card will call for them. For example Azazoth:

Quote:

3- "azathoth's card" says (under setup) to place an eldritch token on the green space on the omen track...the game also says to start with the "omen token/circle" on that exact space...so does the eldritch token sit inside the omen token, and then move along with it? or???


The eldritch token stays. There are other effects that add or remove more tokens to the spot. When the circle gets back around doom counts down extra.

Quote:

4- "location encounters"...we always have the option of drawing a "general encounter" card, instead of the amer/europe/asia/aus" ones (if we choose to), correct?


Yes.

Quote:

5- is there a limit to the number of assets we each can have/carry? same with spells, artifacts, etc.?


No limit but you can't have duplicates (which really only affects spells. Also conditions.)

Quote:

thanks! I know (from reading, and one of the videos) that using "azathoth" to start may be kind of boring, but since we're new to the game we went with it anyhow...and we're enjoying the game so far...like any other game, once we "get" the basics down then (hopefully) we'll be not only better at it but also able to start really "playing" (vs. "learning") the game...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mortego
United States
New Kensington
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
John_VW wrote:
(had to stop early last night, so we'll pick up again tonight or tomorrow):

1- "improving skills"...rules say we can't more than twice...does that mean no more than two of the "1/2 tokens" (max 4 improvement) or does it mean just the one token, and the best you can do is get it flipped over to the "2" side?

2- "eldritch tokens"...not sure exactly what they do?

3- "azathoth's card" says (under setup) to place an eldritch token on the green space on the omen track...the game also says to start with the "omen token/circle" on that exact space...so does the eldritch token sit inside the omen token, and then move along with it? or???

4- "location encounters"...we always have the option of drawing a "general encounter" card, instead of the amer/europe/asia/aus" ones (if we choose to), correct?

5- is there a limit to the number of assets we each can have/carry? same with spells, artifacts, etc.?

thanks! I know (from reading, and one of the videos) that using "azathoth" to start may be kind of boring, but since we're new to the game we went with it anyhow...and we're enjoying the game so far...like any other game, once we "get" the basics down then (hopefully) we'll be not only better at it but also able to start really "playing" (vs. "learning") the game...


1.) one token only for a total of +2 skill improvement (I believe)

2.) Eldritch tokens are used either for Rumors (blue mythos cards or to complete mysteries). The cards will always tell you when you need to use them.

3.) it does not move along with it (again, I believe this to be correct)

4.) Correct

5.) as many as you want however with asset weapons you may only choose one bonus to use but you can use all of the other effects listed on all of your weapon assets.

I have only used Azathoth in my 8 times playing this game.

There are a lot of little nuances in the game to pay attention to like when you prepare to travel; you can only get a ticket when you're in a city space or whenever an investigator reaches zero you need to move them to the nearest city space, advance the doom track by one and then use a health or sanity marker to indicated how the character got to zero and have all their possessions with them on that city space.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Van Wagoner
United States
Bluffton
South Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
regarding "There are a lot of little nuances in the game to pay attention to like when you prepare to travel; you can only get a ticket when you're in a city space or whenever an investigator reaches zero you need to move them to the nearest city space, advance the doom track by one and then use a health or sanity marker to indicated how the character got to zero and have all their possessions with them on that city space."

- reach zero? you mean die, or go insane?
- what is the importance of knowing how they got to zero?

thanks...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Xelto G
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
John_VW wrote:
regarding "There are a lot of little nuances in the game to pay attention to like when you prepare to travel; you can only get a ticket when you're in a city space or whenever an investigator reaches zero you need to move them to the nearest city space, advance the doom track by one and then use a health or sanity marker to indicated how the character got to zero and have all their possessions with them on that city space."

- reach zero? you mean die, or go insane?
- what is the importance of knowing how they got to zero?

thanks...

He's talking about running out of either health or sanity. You move the defeated investigator to the nearest city space (which may well be the space he's in). The importance about knowing which is because when you encounter a defeated investigator, you get different encounters depending on which way he was defeated.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan Probst
Germany
Kiel
Schleswig Holstein
flag msg tools
Yes, it means defeated.
Keeping track how they were defeated (by marking the investigator token with a wound marker for crippled or a sanity marker for insane) not only distinguishes the token from a delayed investigator (token lieing down without health/san marker), but it tells you which kind of encounter from the backside of the investigator sheet to do when encountering them.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Van Wagoner
United States
Bluffton
South Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Xelto wrote:
John_VW wrote:
regarding "There are a lot of little nuances in the game to pay attention to like when you prepare to travel; you can only get a ticket when you're in a city space or whenever an investigator reaches zero you need to move them to the nearest city space, advance the doom track by one and then use a health or sanity marker to indicated how the character got to zero and have all their possessions with them on that city space."

- reach zero? you mean die, or go insane?
- what is the importance of knowing how they got to zero?

thanks...

He's talking about running out of either health or sanity. You move the defeated investigator to the nearest city space (which may well be the space he's in). The importance about knowing which is because when you encounter a defeated investigator, you get different encounters depending on which way he was defeated.
thanks...must have missed that in the rules, and we haven't gotten that far (yet) in our game...which we hope to resume tonight...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mortego
United States
New Kensington
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Right, at the time I wrote that reply I couldn't remember that that was called "defeated".

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.