Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Treasures & Traps» Forums » Rules

Subject: Target another Player rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
F H
United Kingdom
UK
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Here's a knotty one.

Assume someone targets your realm, and you play a card that tells them they have to target another realm, but there are only two players.

Does that mean they end up attacking themselves. Or do you just end the action?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Stadolnik
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
This is slightly thorny...

The only surprise card in the deck which can force a player to change their intended target is the DISGUISE card, upon which it states: "Your opponent must pick a new target. If no valid target exists, your opponent's action fails".

If the card stated "Your opponent CAN pick a new target", the resolution would be cut and dry, but alas is says "MUST".

I think the ideal interpretation would be: "If an attacker goes to make an attack but finds that the target is not there (disguised), the attacker may then choose to target a different card if they want, else the action is failed."

Being forced to potentially attack yourself or a teammate (in team play) doesn't seem correct, especially because the defender only disguised their one card. If the defender got to choose the attacker's new target that would a different matter (as it would imply that the defender swapped the appearance of two cards, but this is not the case).

-Joe
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Kreader
United States
Evanston
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmb
This is one of those cards which as we tested the game, seemed clear enough, but as we are finding, is up for interpretation.

The Disguise is designed to be a potent card when used correctly. This is why it is harder to get into play than most Surprise cards. Officially, if someone uses Disguise on an opponent and that opponent has no other valid targets save themselves then they have to select one of their own.

However, it falls into a gray area and certainly could be left to "house rules".

C. Aaron Kreader
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Iain
England
Reading
Berkshire
flag msg tools
now retired so time for more gaming!
badge
Alumini of Dogwarts University - Double First : Engineering for Dogs
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I kind of like the strict interpretation that you have to target yourself, gives an edge to the play ninja

but as Christopher has mentioned you may wish to have a house rule that suits you.

just my 4 pennyworth
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.