Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

War of the Ring (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Dead Men of Dunharrow rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nate Merchant
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Does the play of this card pluck Strider from the Fellowship? That is how we played it, but the rules don't say whether or not he needed to be separated before play of the card.

Thanks!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ira Fay
United States
New Haven
CT
flag msg tools
designer
:-)
badge
Fay Games logo
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
He must be separate already. At least, that's how I've always played it...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Strider/Aragorn must be already separated from the Fellowship in order to play the card, as Companions still in the Fellowship are not yet in play.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Heikki Laakkonen
Finland
Jyväskylä
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Strider has to be separated from the Fellowship to play Dead Men of Dunharrow. This is propably explained in the rulebook in a part that deals with the fellowship and/or companions.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Muldoon (silentdibs)
United States
Astoria
New York
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hessen wrote:
Strider has to be separated from the Fellowship to play Dead Men of Dunharrow. This is propably explained in the rulebook in a part that deals with the fellowship and/or companions.

We looked for such a reference but weren't able to find one at the table, which is disappointing. Similarly, we couldn't remember if the Witch-king counted as a Nazgul for card effects - that one was buried under Character Movement, of all places.

Here's what Event Cards has to say: "Cards in the Character deck are often related to the Fellowship and to the actions of Companions and Minions on the map" (my emphasis).

Under Armies and Battles / Characters / Entering Play: "Companions enter play when they are separated from the Fellowship."

And finally, under Separating Companions from the Fellowship: "While a Companion remains in the Fellowship, he may not have any influence on the game except for his Guide ability (if he is the Guide) and for his influence on the Hunt for the Ring."

That covers it. I am not fond of the term "in/out of play" for cards/pieces that clearly are still involved with play in some form in the Fellowship, but there ya go.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Raf B
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
One other point to note is that cards that allow Companions to separate from the Fellowship in order to execute their effect usually note that explicitly, e.g. There and Back Again, We Prove the Swifter, I Will Go Alone. (These obviously are conventions that will not be immediately apparent until after a few plays.)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.