Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Star Wars: Rebellion» Forums » Rules

Subject: Ground battles/Subjugation and probe cards question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dragomir Anachkov
Bulgaria
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
When the empire invades a planet on the ground, the rebels have to declare if their base is on this planet. Does the probe card of this planet remain in the probe card deck or is it given to the empire? For example, if the empire manages to subjugate this planet, and later draws the probe card with the same planet, it would sound a bit odd to discover something, which was already obvious - that the base is not there. What do you think?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig S.
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmb
Rimogard wrote:
When the empire invades a planet on the ground, the rebels have to declare if their base is on this planet. Does the probe card of this planet remain in the probe card deck or is it given to the empire? For example, if the empire manages to subjugate this planet, and later draws the probe card with the same planet, it would sound a bit odd to discover something, which was already obvious - that the base is not there. What do you think?


Nothing happens with the probe deck. That would seriously unbalance the game in the Empire's favor if the could cull the probe deck that way.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dragomir Anachkov
Bulgaria
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris J Davis
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Overtext pending moderation...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
csouth154 wrote:
Rimogard wrote:
When the empire invades a planet on the ground, the rebels have to declare if their base is on this planet. Does the probe card of this planet remain in the probe card deck or is it given to the empire? For example, if the empire manages to subjugate this planet, and later draws the probe card with the same planet, it would sound a bit odd to discover something, which was already obvious - that the base is not there. What do you think?


Nothing happens with the probe deck. That would seriously unbalance the game in the Empire's favor if the could cull the probe deck that way.


Though there are a couple of missions that allow you to do exactly this.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
bleached_lizard wrote:
csouth154 wrote:
Rimogard wrote:
When the empire invades a planet on the ground, the rebels have to declare if their base is on this planet. Does the probe card of this planet remain in the probe card deck or is it given to the empire? For example, if the empire manages to subjugate this planet, and later draws the probe card with the same planet, it would sound a bit odd to discover something, which was already obvious - that the base is not there. What do you think?


Nothing happens with the probe deck. That would seriously unbalance the game in the Empire's favor if the could cull the probe deck that way.


Though there are a couple of missions that allow you to do exactly this.

Well, to a degree The mission in question doesn't let you go through the WHOLE deck, the Rebels just draw 8 cards and give the Imperials all those that pertain to systems they have units in. Late game, this can be a lot of info; early game, it's very possible it's almost nothing, even if the Empire has a good number of systems.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marcel van der pol
Netherlands
Leiden
Zuid-Holland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Rimogard wrote:
When the empire invades a planet on the ground, the rebels have to declare if their base is on this planet. Does the probe card of this planet remain in the probe card deck or is it given to the empire? For example, if the empire manages to subjugate this planet, and later draws the probe card with the same planet, it would sound a bit odd to discover something, which was already obvious - that the base is not there. What do you think?


Nothing happens to the probe deck. The probe card with the system remains in the probe deck.

The same is true for any system that is Subjugated or turned Loyal to the Empire. It is quite possible that the Empire draws probe cards for systems where he already has ground forces or Loyalty. This is a disadvantage for the Empire as he doesn't gain any new information from the probe deck when he draws systems that he already has under his control.

However, the Rebels have the disadvantage that they can draw Probe cards that are under Empire control when they move the Rebel Base to a new location.

I would not however introduce a "house rule" that systems under Empire control are removed from the probe deck until that control is broken. It would have severely unbalancing consequences if this happens. Drawing two probe cards from a deck that doesn't contain any Empire controlled systems is way too much; at the same time the Rebels drawing four probe cards that are not under Empire Control when they move their Base is also too much choise.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.