I noticed the rules say at the beginning before the first turn when both players decided who to set as captain and comrades that the total of life points much equal 6 or less. do that mean when you replenish your log you can have a higher total in the following turns?
You have to start the game with 6 life points (6 cards into your log pose). That means at the start of the game you can play captain/comrades with a total maximum of 6 HP. During the game you can add as many cards you want to your log pose.