Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Paths of Glory» Forums » Rules

Subject: USA entry and Brest Litovsk rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
bestia immonda
Italy
Bologna
Bologna
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can someone pls explain me the requirements for USA entry and Bolshevik revolution? I mean the VP, occupied russian VP spaces and so on. The only clear thing is 3 VP in order to play Czar takes command!
Help!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Thomas
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, USA entry first because its easy.

The USA entry marker starts in the 'USA neutral' Box.

It moves into the 'Zimmerman Telegram allowed' Box when Combined War Status is equal to or greater than 30.

It moves into the 'Zimmerman Telegram' Box when the Zimmerman Telegram event is played by the Allied player.

It moves into the 'Over There' Box when the Over There event is played by the Allied player. Over There may not be played on the same turn as Zimmerman Telegrma was played. Once Over There has been played, USA Reinforcement cards can be played as events and every time the Allies use an Action to get RPs, they get 1 USA RP in addition to the others.

Now, Russian Capitulation.

The Russian Capitulation marker starts in the 'God Save the Tsar' Box.

It moves into the 'Tsar takes Command Allowed Box' when 3 VP spaces in Russia (eg, Warsaw, Odessa, Kiev, etc) are controlled by the Central powers.

It moves into the 'Tsar Takes Command' Box when the Tsar Takes Command event is played by the Central powers player.

It moves into the 'Fall of the Tsar Allowed' Box when the combined total of CP controlled VP spaces in Russia+Combined War Status is equal to or greater than 33. [This is roughly the same time as Zimmeran Telegram becomes allowed]

It moves into the 'Fall of the Tsar' Box when the Fall of the Tsar event is played by the Central Powers player. At that moment, the players should make a note of the number of CP controlled spaces in Russia. Use the 'CP VP spaces when Tsar fell' marker provided.

The Russian Capitulation marker moves into the 'Bolshevik Revolution Allowed' box when the CPs control more VP spaces than they did when the Tsar fell, OR if the CPs control all VP spaces in Russia excluding Baku (on the Near East map).

It moves into the 'Bolshevik Revolution' box when the Bolshevik Revolution event is played by the Central Powers player.

It moves into the 'Treaty of Brest-Litovsk' box when the Treaty of Brest Litovsk event is played by the Central Powers player. NB: The only condition needed to play Brest-Litovsk is that Bolshevik Revolution must already have been played: no extra steps are needed, unlike with all the other stages. Also, you don't have to wait a turn between playing cards on this track, you could play all 4 cards in the same turn as long as you met the conditions at each step.

Is that clear?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
bestia immonda
Italy
Bologna
Bologna
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Philip Thomas wrote:

It moves into the 'Fall of the Tsar' Box when the Fall of the Tsar event is played by the Central Powers player. At that moment, the players should make a note of the number of CP controlled spaces in Russia. Use the 'CP VP spaces when Tsar fell' marker provided.

The Russian Capitulation marker moves into the 'Bolshevik Revolution Allowed' box when the CPs control more VP spaces than they did when the Tsar fell, OR if the CPs control all VP spaces in Russia excluding Baku (on the Near East map).



Ok thanks, this is the part that I didn't understand clearly from the rules.
You've been very clear!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Barratt
United Kingdom
Royal Leamington Spa
Warwickshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Philip Thomas wrote:
Now, Russian Capitulation.

The Russian Capitulation marker starts in the 'God Save the Tsar' Box.

It moves into the 'Tsar takes Command Allowed Box' when 3 VP spaces in Russia (eg, Warsaw, Odessa, Kiev, etc) are controlled by the Central powers.

It moves into the 'Tsar Takes Command' Box when the Tsar Takes Command event is played by the Central powers player.

It moves into the 'Fall of the Tsar Allowed' Box when the combined total of CP controlled VP spaces in Russia+Combined War Status is equal to or greater than 33. [This is roughly the same time as Zimmeran Telegram becomes allowed]

It moves into the 'Fall of the Tsar' Box when the Fall of the Tsar event is played by the Central Powers player. At that moment, the players should make a note of the number of CP controlled spaces in Russia. Use the 'CP VP spaces when Tsar fell' marker provided.

The Russian Capitulation marker moves into the 'Bolshevik Revolution Allowed' box when the CPs control more VP spaces than they did when the Tsar fell, OR if the CPs control all VP spaces in Russia excluding Baku (on the Near East map).

It moves into the 'Bolshevik Revolution' box when the Bolshevik Revolution event is played by the Central Powers player.

It moves into the 'Treaty of Brest-Litovsk' box when the Treaty of Brest Litovsk event is played by the Central Powers player. NB: The only condition needed to play Brest-Litovsk is that Bolshevik Revolution must already have been played: no extra steps are needed, unlike with all the other stages. Also, you don't have to wait a turn between playing cards on this track, you could play all 4 cards in the same turn as long as you met the conditions at each step.

Is that clear?


Also it can move back from Tsar Takes Command Allowed to God Save the Tsar if the CP lose that third Russian VP space, and similarly for the other card allowed boxes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
bestia immonda
Italy
Bologna
Bologna
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So it seems quite hard to both fulfull the requirements for USA entry and much more so Russian Capitulation.
Roughly how are the odds of those events happening? 5%? More? Less?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve
United States
Flagstaff
Arizona
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Probably less than 5, esp USA entry. The designer considers those events to be historical longshots as well, so it was intentional.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jayson Abbott
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Brest-Litovsk is pretty common in our games (c.40%) mostly to get the German army out of Russia and over to France and Italy. I really think the USA was going to enter WWI at some point - if hadn't been the Lusitania it would have been something similar - but really what the game is showing with the USA entry cards is whether there would have been EFFECTIVE USA participation. American Generals were prickly and uncooperative, the army was unblooded and nearly unequipped (other than small arms the USA was reliant on Allied equipment such as machine guns, artillery, aircraft, and tanks). In game terms the Americans were only really active in Summer and Fall of 1918.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Thomas
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In the 4 games I've played I have seen Brest-Litovsk once and USA troops on the ground never. However, 3 of those games ended before turn 11, and the 4th, the one with Brest-Litovsk, ended in Mid-1917.

But even if they don't get played they can exercise an important role in one's thinking during the game. In my current game as the Allies I am weighing up the benefits of American Intervention vs the dangers of Russian Capitulation. That calculation will determine whether Greece enters the war (which would take War Status to 30)...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.