Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Pirates of the Spanish Main» Forums » Rules

Subject: Shooting question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ben Penner
United States
Tucson
Arizona
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Do you have to target something specific in order to shoot? Or can you just fire at nothing?

I have a ship that has the ability "After resolving a shoot action, she may move as a free action." I want to put a Captain on her, so could she on the first turn: Move, Shoot (at nothing) with the Captains ability, then move again as a free action?

Thanks ahead of time.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Kollross
Canada
Carvel
Alberta
flag msg tools
designer
Pew pew pew!!!
badge
I'm a member of the Game Artisans of Canada
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No. But I don't think the rules state it specifically. You can't shoot unless you have range and if there is nothing in range, you can't shoot. You could however put a smokepot specialist on board as they do not need a target and as long as you succeed in your attack roll you would place a smoke cloud/fog bank and then use the special ability.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Penner
United States
Tucson
Arizona
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's what I thought, but still wanted to find out for sure. That's a good point about the smokepot.


And another question:

Can a Marine still fire from a ship that is Derelict? And can he fire from anywhere on the ship, or is he restrained to where the masts are/were?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Neil Figuracion

California
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I would guess that since a Marine can fire from an island, he can fire from a derelict ship. Of course, I don't usually read the rules too closely...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.