Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Revolution: The Dutch Revolt 1568-1648» Forums » Rules

Subject: a few questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Eerk Katerman
Netherlands
Rotterdam
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
in our session of "the dutch revolt" we stumbled upon a few strangenesses.

- If an army besieges a city, it leaves the command block. During army movement the command block may be moved into by other armies. Can you fill up a command block this way to prevent a besieging army from returning to the command block? if yes, where does the sieging army go?

- Why would the Habsburgs or the Burghers invest money in the Allegiance track?

- We encountered the situation where all of the 9 permitted resources in Flanders were put in cities. Those cities were besieged. Do you have to fill the province with 8 independent resources? (since besieged cities do not count towards the province limit). When the siege is over this leads to Flanders having 15 resources in it.

- Is "overflow" meant to be played as a major tactic?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marco
Netherlands
Arnhem
Gelderland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
If an army besieges a city, it leaves the command block. During army movement the command block may be moved into by other armies. Can you fill up a command block this way to prevent a besieging army from returning to the command block? if yes, where does the sieging army go?


We have asked ourselves the same thing. The rules seem to be non-conclusive here. We decided that it was most logical that a besieging army still occupies a slot in the command block.

Quote:
Why would the Habsburgs or the Burghers invest money in the Allegiance track?


Because they (the Habsburgs or the Burghers) might have allied with the Catholics or Reformers. It can have been negotiated that they invest money in the track in exchange for other aid/services/assets/non-aggression pacts.
Besides this, the Habsburgs may try to get the markers in the light-yellow region in order to eliminate Burghers/Reformers from their cities. The burghers may want to prevent this (especially when their units are to be removed).
Moreover, the Habsburgs most likely want to prevent that their cities will completely be taken over by a Reformers revolt.

Quote:
Is "overflow" meant to be played as a major tactic?


It can certainly be a useful tactic, and I am sure it was meant that way.
Since the game is played in so few rounds, overflow can be a crucial mechanism for getting influence in more provinces, especially in the first half of the game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Low
United States
Mansfield
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
benni_jolink wrote:
- If an army besieges a city, it leaves the command block.

I can't cite anything right now, but we have besieging armies reserving their spot to return to the command block.

benni_jolink wrote:
- Why would the Habsburgs or the Burghers invest money in the Allegiance track?

They tend to invest in cities that are tipping toward reform, or in cities where they can cause trouble for the game leaders. Horse trading agreements are common as well.

benni_jolink wrote:
- When the siege is over this leads to Flanders having 15 resources in it.

Yea, that happens in Flanders (or in Holland).

benni_jolink wrote:
- Is "overflow" meant to be played as a major tactic?

No. Overflow doesn't happen that often. I don't see it as a major tactic. Province to province movement isn't easy, but overflow isn't needed.

-Greg
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Bachman
United States
Colonie
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
benni_jolink wrote:

- If an army besieges a city, it leaves the command block. During army movement the command block may be moved into by other armies. Can you fill up a command block this way to prevent a besieging army from returning to the command block? if yes, where does the sieging army go?
From 6.15 of the rulebook:
Armies that have taken part in sieges are now returned to the relevant Command Blocks.

They could not return to a full Command Block, therefore their space must be reserved during Army Movement.

benni_jolink wrote:
- Why would the Habsburgs or the Burghers invest money in the Allegiance track?
As noted above, it is often as part of deal making, protecting their own cities from the opposing extremes, as well as sometimes necessary to 'burn' treasury if more stock is desired.

benni_jolink wrote:
- We encountered the situation where all of the 9 permitted resources in Flanders were put in cities. Those cities were besieged. Do you have to fill the province with 8 independent resources? (since besieged cities do not count towards the province limit). When the siege is over this leads to Flanders having 15 resources in it.
No, the resources in cities under siege DO count for the Province Limit. None would be added in your example, which would facilitate Overflow from surrounding areas should they be overfilled with a single faction. This is a big mistake in the FAQ found here on BGG. The updated rulebook addresses this by explicitly stating that they do indeed count here.

benni_jolink wrote:
- Is "overflow" meant to be played as a major tactic?
It is not "meant" to be a major tactic, but some factions - most notably the Nobility - it can be used as a major tactic.

Hope you enjoyed the game. It is one of my favorites.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.