Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Dungeon Crawler» Forums » Rules

Subject: Playing Crawler cards in different steps rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jamel Rha
Canada
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can I play Crawler cards in different steps of an encounter? For example:

1. In the step #4 "Adventurer Attack", I play a card that permit me to wound a character that is resistant to magic (+1), removing it from the dungeon.
2. Then, in the step #5 "Adventurers Defend", I play a Magic card that gives me a boost in stamina, effectively preventing me from being wounded.

So, in that case, the card played in step #5 would not affect the outcome of step #4, if we can play cards in different timings. Am i right or not?

Thanks as always.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wilson St.James
Canada
Winona
Ontario
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
Jamel, I was just on the other thread where you mention your approximate 80% win rate and I got to thinking that seemed high. So when I saw this thread I thought perhaps you'd identified an error in your gameplay. Ha!
However as I understand your question, I see no conflict. You appear to be playing your Crawler cards correctly to me.
To your question, you can also play Crawler cards in response to Dungeon cards filling the dungeon. Certain ones, mind you, but it just illustrates the point that, yes, cards can be played in different parts of the encounter.
Cheers.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan
United States
Minneapolis
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Looks correct to me. From the online rulebook
Quote:
STEP 3: COMBAT (pages 5-8)
COMBAT TRIGGERS: Some abilities occur before combat,
these Combat Triggers would occur now.

ADVENTURER ATTACK: The Party attacks Dungeon cards in
this round’s Encounter by Activating Adventurers for Power
and playing cards from your Hand or using abilities of
Permanent cards in play. We then, sum up their Attack Power
to meet or exceed the Dungeon’s total Stamina. If the Power
at least meets the Stamina, then you have won the Struggle
for Power and win the attack. You are now eligible to place a
Wound(s) and other effects (if applicable) to Dungeon’s cards.

DUNGEON RETALIATION: The Party defends against the
remaining cards in this Encounter, by activating Adventurers
for Stamina and playing cards from their Hand or using the
abilities of Permanents in play. We then sum up the Party’s
Stamina to meet or exceed the Dungeon’s total Power. If the
Party is unable to at least meet the total Power, you lose the
Defend, and then a Wound(s) or other effects are applied to
the Adventurers (typically the Primary Target)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jey Legarie
msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You are correct. You can play Crawler cards as a Response, then during both phases of combat. Their effects are played out as they come in to play.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jamel Rha
Canada
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you everyone for the answers. This is a good news since it permits to work around some situations.

@The Clergy : I've tried the Elite setup and I am still at 0% after two games lol. Quite brutal but fast and fun!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.