Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Colosseum» Forums » Rules

Subject: Do you have to maximize your score? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nils Håkon Nordberg
Norway
Drammen
Please select region, state or province
flag msg tools
We just played our first couple of rounds of Colosseum tonight, and two questions came up.

1. When you're winning an event, sometimes you find yourself winning by just a small margin. Perhas so small a margin that you would rather not win the round because of the asset the losing player will grab from your stock. In these cases, would it be possible to lower your score by not using all the assets you have available? You can for instance decide to stage an event with only two of the required three lions (even though you have three on hand), thereby lowering your score intentionally.

2. Another question. The star pieces, do they count as 1 piece by themselves? Let's say you have 3 gladiators, and thereby acquire the star gladiator, would you then be able to meet the requirements in events that need 4 gladiators?

Nils Håkon Nordberg
Norway
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Fisk
United Kingdom
Stoke on Trent
Staffordshire
flag msg tools
Come on you Seagulls! Sami Hyppia's Blue & White army!
badge
That's weird. This bit used to mention Shire Games, and tell you all how wonderful we are. But it seems to have got deleted. Let's see what happens this time ....
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
nilshakon wrote:
We just played our first couple of rounds of Colosseum tonight, and two questions came up.

1. When you're winning an event, sometimes you find yourself winning by just a small margin. Perhas so small a margin that you would rather not win the round because of the asset the losing player will grab from your stock. In these cases, would it be possible to lower your score by not using all the assets you have available? You can for instance decide to stage an event with only two of the required three lions (even though you have three on hand), thereby lowering your score intentionally.

2. Another question. The star pieces, do they count as 1 piece by themselves? Let's say you have 3 gladiators, and thereby acquire the star gladiator, would you then be able to meet the requirements in events that need 4 gladiators?

Nils Håkon Nordberg
Norway


1. Interesting question which is not in the rules ... I would say "no" - If you've got the tiles, you have to include them. Otherwise, everyone will just be pulling tiles out of their events and it will all get messy!

2. No. The "star" is four extra spectators, but not an extra tile by itself.


N.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Hautemont
United States
Los Altos
California
flag msg tools
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
Nick is correct on both counts. You cannot opt to "not count" points you would normally gain when running your event. If you don't want to get these points, you need to plan accordingly ahead of time ;-).
And no the star tokens do NOT count as an asset token per se.

eric @ DoW
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mik Svellov
Denmark
Copenhagen N
EU
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As Eric says, it is possible to avoid some of the problems by proper planning. But you can also attempt to avoid it at the last minute by:

- scoring a previous show a second time
- or by NOT to moving any Nobles inside your arena
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristian Amundsen Østby
Norway
Langhus
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mik Svellov mentions "scoring a previous show a second time". Is this possible? I thought an event was 'used up' when you scored it..?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mik Svellov
Denmark
Copenhagen N
EU
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
See the rules, page IX: Previous Events:
Quote:
A player may choose to repeat events that they have produced in previous turns. In this case, the player turns the older Event Program face up to show she is producing that event.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristian Amundsen Østby
Norway
Langhus
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, thanks! I instinctively assumed it was like in Princes of Florence.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mik Svellov
Denmark
Copenhagen N
EU
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The game isn't really like The Princes of Florence at all.

Wolfgang Kramer was asked in an interview which of his previous designs Colosseum was most closely related to, and he answered that it has a

"remote assemblance to Fürsten von Florenz, but it has far more luck in addition to a element of negotiation."

(My 'emphasis')
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nils Håkon Nordberg
Norway
Drammen
Please select region, state or province
flag msg tools
Ok, thanks for the rules clarification. In our two games we felt there was a runaway leader problem in the game. The persons starting out with assets that best matched their starting programs also tended to finish first. But the fact that you can use your programs again fixes this, it would seem. I have tried it with the "new rule" today, and its a better game already. With the recycling of a program you can for instance dedicate round number 4 to a build up for the last round - and still have a little of the oh so critical income in round 4 without having spent resources on it. Just the thing to do when you are a little behind.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alan Kwan
Hong Kong
Hong Kong
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In pratice, why would one want to avoid winning the round? Isn't the podium very valuable? Especially considering that, if you don't get it, someone else will.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Inno Van
United States
San Francisco/East Bay
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In practice, why would one want to avoid winning the round? Isn't the podium very valuable?

After everyone discards one token from your current act, the lowest score player gets to steal one token from the highest scoring player. (Fortunately "special" tokens like wildcards may not be stolen)

Say goodbye to your +4 star performer bonus. :-(
Say hello to the +3 podium bonus. :-)

Mostly people don't want to be highest because they're trying to protect their star performer status in a particular token type.

But the trade off IMO is even --the Star Bonus only counts when you perform acts that include that token type. The podium bonus is +3, rest of game, no dependencies.

It's not a great advantage for the lead player, just an even trade to compensate for being vulture picked by the lowest score player. The one who comes out ahead is the lowest score player.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Occu Pant
United States
Clive
Iowa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Slight twist on the question. What about the special case if you have one of the Joker asset tokens? Can you choose to make the joker a resource that is not needed in the event that you are producing (effectively removing a resource and lowering your score)?
The rules say that a "Joker CAN be used to replace any
standard asset token." Not that it MUST be used to replace a standard asset token?







Erich wrote:
Nick is correct on both counts. You cannot opt to "not count" points you would normally gain when running your event. If you don't want to get these points, you need to plan accordingly ahead of time ;-).
And no the star tokens do NOT count as an asset token per se.

eric @ DoW
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.