Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Mare Nostrum: Empires» Forums » General

Subject: Legendary resource discard question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jon Pessano
United States
Tampa
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
All,

Does anyone know of the discard pile is public or private?

Thx
jonpfl
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Snow
United States
New York City
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Right now we're playing face down, so no one can "count' which resources are out. Its supposed to be a random draw.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick G.
United States
Glenshaw
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Does your religion have lightsabers? Nope? Didn't think so.
badge
"A person is smart. People are dumb, panicky dangerous animals." Agent K. Oh my what he would think of people had he known about what the internet would become.....
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
chas59 wrote:
Right now we're playing face down, so no one can "count' which resources are out. Its supposed to be a random draw.
Random draw is because the pile is face down. It does specify NOT to reshuffle until all the goods have been gone though. This seems to imply that it is public knowledge what has been discarded.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Pessano
United States
Tampa
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
corkysru wrote:
chas59 wrote:
Right now we're playing face down, so no one can "count' which resources are out. Its supposed to be a random draw.
Random draw is because the pile is face down. It does specify NOT to reshuffle until all the goods have been gone though. This seems to imply that it is public knowledge what has been discarded.

Well, what happens if 1 is left to draw and two people have to draw?

If everyone knows what is left, how do you decide who goes first?

Thx
jonpfl
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg
United States
Lowell
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
corkysru wrote:
chas59 wrote:
Right now we're playing face down, so no one can "count' which resources are out. Its supposed to be a random draw.
Random draw is because the pile is face down. It does specify NOT to reshuffle until all the goods have been gone though. This seems to imply that it is public knowledge what has been discarded.

Not really. Not shuffling until all the goods have been gone through only implies that you don't reshuffle discards into an active draw pile. It doesn't imply anything about the discard pile being face up or down.

jonpfl wrote:
Well, what happens if 1 is left to draw and two people have to draw?

If everyone knows what is left, how do you decide who goes first?

Thx
jonpfl

I believe this was recently answered in the FAQ thread, or somewhere else. If it comes down to not enough resources to be drawn, then they are drawn in order of the trade track, from highest to lowest numerically and from bottom to top markers if tied at the same number on the track.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Bredon
United States
Sunnyvale
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
If you play with Dido (an expansion hero who can save 2 unused discards), the unused discards have to be public, as well as the sets used.
This makes all commodity discards trackable information.
Keeping the Legendary discards face down thus helps those who have good memories, while keeping them face up and searchable evens the field.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Pessano
United States
Tampa
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hahma wrote:
corkysru wrote:
chas59 wrote:
Right now we're playing face down, so no one can "count' which resources are out. Its supposed to be a random draw.
Random draw is because the pile is face down. It does specify NOT to reshuffle until all the goods have been gone though. This seems to imply that it is public knowledge what has been discarded.

Not really. Not shuffling until all the goods have been gone through only implies that you don't reshuffle discards into an active draw pile. It doesn't imply anything about the discard pile being face up or down.

jonpfl wrote:
Well, what happens if 1 is left to draw and two people have to draw?

If everyone knows what is left, how do you decide who goes first?

Thx
jonpfl

I believe this was recently answered in the FAQ thread, or somewhere else. If it comes down to not enough resources to be drawn, then they are drawn in order of the trade track, from highest to lowest numerically and from bottom to top markers if tied at the same number on the track.

So when someone is tied on trade track, position on space matters? Is this the only time position (i.e. top or bottom) matters? I assume the person who got there last goes on top, correct?

Thx
jonpfl
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls