Mike Willner
United States
Brooklyn
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Losses:
In a battle, the loss procedure for the Patriots says to alternate French and Continental cubes until exhausted then move onto militia and forts. Say the Patriots need to lose 3, and they have a French and Continental cube and a militia. Do they:
a) Alternate French then Continental and have to lose 4 (each cube being 2)
OR
b) Lose the French for 2 then the Militia for 1, satisfying the loss of 3?

Win the Day:
Say the British win the day in an area that has a Propaganda in it. Do they a) have to use one of their "Win the Day" victory shifts to remove the Propaganda,
OR
b) just shift support, ignoring the Propaganda

Command / Special Activity:
Say the British player gets the option for Command / Special Activation and for one reason or another he cannot execute any of the Commands (i.e. he is broke) ... can he still execute a Special Activity?

Thanks.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
P. Fowler
United States
Indianapolis
Indiana
flag msg tools
We provide...
badge
The rich and powerful take what they want. We steal it back for you.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Losses: A. Because of the procedure, sometimes you will have to lose more total to satisfy the Loss Level.

Win the Day: 3.6.8 Win the Day mentions nothing about removing Propaganda, so it would be B.

Command / SA: No. You MUST be able to execute a Command in order to utilize a Special Activity. Now, you can do something like Naval Pressure to gain Resources before you actually choose the Command, but in the end there must be a Command executed before you can take a Command + SA space on the Sequence of Play.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Curt Sellmer
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
Quote:

In a battle, the loss procedure for the Patriots says to alternate French and Continental cubes until exhausted then move onto militia and forts. Say the Patriots need to lose 3, and they have a French and Continental cube and a militia.
Actually, you alternate French Regular, Continental, active militia. Then once those are exhausted move on to forts, only if defending. You must account for the total loss level or more. See rule 3.6.7.

In your example, the rebellion takes 3 losses. They would lose the French Regular and the Continental, even though this accounts for 4 loss factors.
The example of Rebellion Removal on page 16 of the rules explains this clearly.

Quote:

Win the Day:
Say the British win the day in an area that has a Propaganda in it. Do they a) have to use one of their "Win the Day" victory shifts to remove the Propaganda,
Winning the day grants you straight shifts in support. Any propaganda or raid markers are ignored and are left in place.

Quote:

Command / Special Activity:
Say the British player gets the option for Command / Special Activation and for one reason or another he cannot execute any of the Commands (i.e. he is broke) ... can he still execute a Special Activity?
4.1 Special Activities in General wrote:

When a Faction per the Event card sequence of play (2.3) executes a Command in at least one space (3.0), it may also execute one of its Special Activities
So, no if you have no resources, then you cannot execute a command in at least one space and thus cannot take a Special Activity.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Harold Buchanan
United States
San Diego
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Curt knows it better than I do....
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls