Ukko Kaarto
Finland
Helsinki
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There are many effects and actions that can target a basic unit. There is also some that specifically say that the target can be both Basic Unit and Special Basic Unit.

Can an ability or action that says only "target Basic Unit" also choose a Special Basic Unit as a target?

Our group houseruled this as NO because:

basic unit: card from the basic unit deck; has an attack
power, health, and abilities; can attack and defend in battles;
stays in play until it is removed by other effects.

Special Basic Unit is NOT a card from the basic unit deck so it is not Basic Unit and thus cannot be targeted by abilities and actions that target Basic Units.

Did we do this right? What's the official answer to this?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tomer Mlynarsky
Israel
flag msg tools
Yes, a special basic unit is still a unit. It's in the rule book, don't have it in front of me now, but if nobody else puts the exact quote I'll check it out later tonight.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Underground Games
msg tools
publisher
Avatar
Hi Ukko,

"Special Basic Units" count as "Basic Units" (they're essentially a unique type of basic unit, but still a basic unit). This means that things that can only target basic units can target special basic units as well.

Special basic units are treated the same as basic units in every way, except that they don't go to the discard piles when they are destroyed.

Cheers,

Underground Games
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ukko Kaarto
Finland
Helsinki
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
UG_Games wrote:
Hi Ukko,

"Special Basic Units" count as "Basic Units" (they're essentially a unique type of basic unit, but still a basic unit). This means that things that can only target basic units can target special basic units as well.

Special basic units are treated the same as basic units in every way, except that they don't go to the discard piles when they are destroyed.

Cheers,

Underground Games

Thanks for the swift clarification. Are you planning a bigger FAQ at some point?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Underground Games
msg tools
publisher
Avatar
Mordjinn wrote:


Thanks for the swift clarification. Are you planning a bigger FAQ at some point?

Yes, we will in the future be adding more to the FAQ. =)
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls