Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Matt T
Australia
Canberra
Australian Capital Territory
flag msg tools
mbmb
I'm completely new to the C&C concept, but decided to give Memoir '44 a go after seeing rave reviews over at Shut Up & Sit Down. We played Montélimar as our first scenario.

It was *so* good. Just straight into the action, and while the rules were simple, this just freed us to think about how to handle the moment. Is he holding back because he has no cards or is it an ambush? (It was an ambush the second time - now back over the hill with you to be picked off by panzer grenadiers.) Leave the tanks on this hill or push forward and hope for overrun? Do I get ineffective units to a different flank so I can use them later or hope for cards where they are? Being forced to develop tactics based on what you actually have rather than agonising over some grand perfect strategy was tremendously liberating. You were in the thick of it, not some detached omniscient general watching via satellite. Plenty of depth.

We swapped sides and it was a completely different battle. Tanks didn't really feature in the first round (thanks to German artillery wiping one lot of Allied armour off the map in the first turn, and a lack of right flank cards for the Axis and centre cards for the Allies later on). The second battle was brutal, with Allied tanks pushing down their right flank straight to the Rhone; dug-in Axis infantry holding the centre; and tanks from both sides rumbling over the hills and smashing into one another.

There was none of the 'randomness' I've seen some complain about. There was always something to do, and while it might not have been what I'd prefer, that's war. You could see flank famines coming and move units into more favourable positions when you had the chance, setting up along those valuable 'red line' hexes for flexibility. Yes, sometimes you were pinned and hopeless, but this just added to the tension. It never felt 'unfair'.