Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Scythe» Forums » Rules

Subject: Two Player Recruit Ongoing Bonus rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Paul L
Australia
Canberra
ACT
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just wanted clarification on something that is worded a little ambiguously in the rules:

From Page 20, regarding Recruits' Ongoing Bonuses.

TWO PLAYER RULES: In a 2-player game, whenever you opponent takes an action that would give you a Recruit Ongoing Bonus, you only gain it once.

My understanding is that you gain the bonus once for that specific action this turn (not twice, as if you were counting your opponent as being on both your left and right)

However, I have encountered it interpreted as you only gain that bonus for that single usage of the action, period. As in you do not get to claim it the next time the opponent takes that action.

Can someone please clarify?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Pearson
United States
Ankeny
Iowa
flag msg tools
Loves Theme
badge
Des Moines Area Boardgamer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You get it every time you or your opponent takes the action for the rest of the game. You can take the action just for the bonus even if you have completed all the other options for that action.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Sherman Oaks
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Your interpretation is correct. In a two player game, your opponent cannot be counted twice when it comes to recruit bonuses.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Xenothon Stelnicki
United States
Gainesville
Florida
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The issue being clarified for that was if you get the bonus once for your opponent being on your left and again for being on their right. You only get the benefit once per your opponent's action. Hope that helps clarify the point.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lori MacKenzie
Canada
Regina
Saskatchewan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
AztecTwoStep wrote:

TWO PLAYER RULES: In a 2-player game, whenever you opponent takes an action that would give you a Recruit Ongoing Bonus, you only gain it once.

However, I have encountered it interpreted as you only gain that bonus for that single usage of the action, period. As in you do not get to claim it the next time the opponent takes that action.

Can someone please clarify?

Think of it this way. 2 PLAYER: Every time your opponent takes the action that activates your recruit you get 1 activation of that Recruit's Ongoing Bonus.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Brine
Canada
Mississauga
Ontario
flag msg tools
Does that mean you get an activation for each qualifying player (yourself, your left neighbour and your right neighbour in a 3+ player game) that uses the action each turn? Or do you only get the reward at most once per turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lori MacKenzie
Canada
Regina
Saskatchewan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ikegami wrote:
Does that mean you get an activation for each qualifying player (yourself, your left neighbour and your right neighbour in a 3+ player game) that uses the action each turn? Or do you only get the reward at most once per turn.

You get the ongoing bonus once per turn but not always on your turn.

In a 3-player game you could potentially get it 3 times in a row (4 if one player is Rusviet). If you take the bottom row action on your turn the ongoing bonus activates, then the player on your left could take that same bottom action and activate your bonus again followed by the player on your right.

Then, unless you're Rusviet, the next round you'd be moving to a different section of the player mat.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls