Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Soccer City» Forums » Rules

Subject: Goalkeeper save: Clears the ball! rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael Wheeler
Australia
Seaford
Victoria
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
When a Goalkeeper save produces a "Clears the ball!" Result, the ball is sent 4 hexes in a straight line. What happens if a player of either side is in a hex on the ball's path fewer than 4 hexes away. Does it get intercepted by that player, or does the ball go over (past) the player for the full 4 hexes.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cassill
Australia
Canberra
Australian Capital Territory
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
While I have absolutely nothing to back this up, I would say the ball is intercepted.

It just seems to be a golden rule - four spaces...short passes are intercepted. The game is modelled that something of that many spaces is on the floor and not in the air.

Maybe...that's how I see it anyway
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tony Broad
United Kingdom
Unspecified
cornwall
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Think I have to agree too, seems the most sensible, and more importantly, logical response
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Soccer City
Spain
Madrid
flag msg tools
designer
I beg to difer, but rule says "Goalkeeper clears the ball and sends it 4 hexes in any direction of the defender's choice" therefore, it doesn't matter that any player is in a hex on the ball's path.
The arguments about "Short passes" are interesting, but in this case is considered that the GK clears the ball 4 hexes invariably.

Note that the "Post hit" explains: "Player intercepts the ball in case it is placed on one of the 4 hexes of the ball direction. Then that player
starts the attacking turn
", but "Clears the ball" rule doesn't say this clarification.

Thank you all !
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls