BoardGameGeek» Forums » Board Game Design » Design Queries and Problems

Subject: Rock paper scissors balancing %'s feedback rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mike Mason
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
What do people generally consider a good balance for a strategy war game with rock-paper-scissor mechanics. Mainly: what is a good %chance to win for the favored unit? I've heard 20%-25% is good, but looking for more opinions.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
rico
United States
Mill Valley
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't understand. Rock always wins!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steven Anderson
Canada
Edmonton
flag msg tools
I'm new to this but it seems to me that being the favored unit but having a 75-80% chance of losing really means that the other guy was favored.... Am I thinking about this wrong?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Benj Davis
Australia
Summer Hill
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmb
HawkSpeed wrote:
I'm new to this but it seems to me that being the favored unit but having a 75-80% chance of losing really means that the other guy was favored.... Am I thinking about this wrong?

I think it's just poorly expressed.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Lennert
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't think there's any universal answer to that. Depends on your design goals for the game.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Geoffrey Burrell
United States
Cedar Rapids
Iowa
flag msg tools
In the video game Warsong the Rock, Paper, Scissors concept worked well. Infantry beat Archers but lost to knights, archers beat knights but lost to infantry, and knights beat infantry but lost to archers. So there should be a 33% balance on each unit.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Benj Davis
Australia
Summer Hill
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmb
GeoffreyB wrote: