Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Zombicide: Black Plague» Forums » Rules

Subject: How do you use the hability "Starts with a "weapon" "? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Guillermo Ferrer
msg tools
Hi everybody!

Trying to choose the best "Special Guest" box option to buy it, I notice that some characters have the hability "start with a "weapon"".

For instance, Thundergut (Naiade's box) starts with a hammer, and my doubt is if this means that:

A: Thundergut can't choose another "starting equipment card", except the hammer.
B: He starts with a hammer (not the starting equipment card, the other hammer of the equipment (red card in the back)), plus another starting equipment card.

There are other survivors with "start with..." characteristic that doesn't coincide the refered weapon with a starting equipment card, like "long bow", or "long sword", and I have the same doubt... do they begin with just that weapon or is it that weapon plus a starting one?

Thank you guys...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M H
msg tools
Don't know page # but the rulebook explicitly states that survivors take a starting item and the item their skill states they start with.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brett Schaller
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Well, going back to the very first "season" on Zombicide, it was specifically stated in the rulebook that Phil's "starts with a pistol" ability meant he pulled a pistol from the deck, and was also issued one of the starting cards, which (the rulebook pointed out) might have him starting with two pistols.

So I'd go with option B.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Angelus Seniores
Belgium
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
correct, a survivor receives the "start with" item on top of the normal starting weapon, thus have 2 items.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Guillermo Ferrer
msg tools
Seems clear now, thank you all guys!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Also note that when you have a "Starts With" ability that does happen to match a Starting Card, you get one of that card from the normal Equipment Deck, even if you have a copy of that starting Equipment card left over.

Also, here's the rule just to show the above replies are correct:
Z:BP rules p6 wrote:
Each Survivor starts the game with at
least one card. If a Survivor’s starting Skill lists any starting
weapons, he receives those cards now, independent of the
starting Equipment you’ve just distributed.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gutripper
Denmark
Copenhagen
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
But you can distribute the starting equipment as you see fit right? so you could give another survivor two of the starting cards (and dual wield from the beginning!)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You must give every Survivor a single Starting Equipment card. If you want to start someone off with Dual Wielded Starting Equipment, then you need to take a Reorganize/Trade Action to transfer them.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian
United States
California
flag msg tools
Enter Text Here
badge
[b][Vote :goo:][/b]
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Clipper wrote:
You must give every Survivor a single Starting Equipment card. If you want to start someone off with Dual Wielded Starting Equipment, then you need to take a Reorganize/Trade Action to transfer them.
This is correct, but if someone starts with a hammer they can be given a hammer as their starting item and duel wield off the bat.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Melriken wrote:
This is correct, but if someone starts with a hammer they can be given a hammer as their starting item and duel wield off the bat.
Yep, but they would not be dual wielding Starting Equipment, they'd be dual wielding one Starting Equipment Hammer and one standard Hammer.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls