Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Plan Orange: Pacific War 1930 – 1935» Forums » Rules

Subject: Strategic Display Movement rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Peter Manning
United Kingdom
Leamington Spa
Warwickshire
flag msg tools
Alfred Adler (1870-1937): The greatest psychologist of the 20th century - not recognised as everyone plagiarises his ideas
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In the rules it says all movement on this display is naval.

Can this be by operational points and logistics points (not at same time obviously)?

Do ground units have to spend Amphibious shipping points to move on this display or is spending operational/logistic points enough?

If all movement is naval do the ground units starting in the Eastern US have to move by sea through the panama canal/cape horn or can they use the NAVAL point to cross the US by plane/train overland? Wondering how abstracted the word 'naval' is here as a game function term given that there is a line connection between the East and Western united states.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Francisco Colmenares
Canada
Woodbridge
Ontario
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Operational/Logistics Points is enough. No amphibious shipping required. Movement is treated as normal Naval Movement, basically ground units are moving by ship in this theater.

If I recall, there is no movement between US West and East coast, simply that when you Mobilize the units will go into the US West or US East coast.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Manning
United Kingdom
Leamington Spa
Warwickshire
flag msg tools
Alfred Adler (1870-1937): The greatest psychologist of the 20th century - not recognised as everyone plagiarises his ideas
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks…one marine regiment starts in the East US box along with the 1st US Division.

So these units have to get to the map via the canal or cape horn…no ground movement across the US then…

Does this also mean ASP's are also not used to move infantry from the strategic display to one of the three entry hexes on the map…I guess so…?

On a different note am I right in thinking there is no ability distinction in the game between army and marine regiments?

Thanks for helping...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Francisco Colmenares
Canada
Woodbridge
Ontario
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Right, ASP are never used if your ground unit is moving in the strategic display or moving to a friendly port.

There is no distinction between the marines and army units in the game. Because of its Empire of the Sun heritage, the color schemes for army and navy are maintained for aesthetic purposes.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls