Subject: This or Massive Darkness? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Joe Phelps

Mount Washington
Kentucky
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I am a miniature painter and a mostly solo gamer. With the addition of the App you can now play this pure solo I was considering jumping in with both feet... Then I saw the Massive Darkness kickstarter. While on one hand Descent is much better established with a ton of expansions the minis in Massive Darkness are frickin incredible. Any thoughts?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
JH
United States
Albany
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Well, Descent is much better established with a ton of expansions but the minis in Massive Darkness are frickin incredible. So it kinda comes down to which is more important to you!

I've been playing D2E for several years now and it is a solid game I always have fun playing. I don't know how Massive Darkness plays. Road to Legend has given it a big shot in the arm. The collected Descent is probably more expensive than Massive Darkness, though, even if you get all the add-ons.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Dunks
United States
Providence Forge
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Playing Descent is a bit more complex, but also requires more tactical planning. The weapons interactions and leveling system are much less generic. which is interesting but also makes the play a bit slow-paced.

I too play mostly solo, and am enjoying Descent greatly with the free Road to Legends ap. I am considering backing Massive Darkness for those times when I feel more like a lighter, simpler game but (hopefully) one that still has meaningful tactical choices. I'm on the fence as to whether I'll trust that MD has this, but the pile of "free" stuff is growing to the point that I may take the plunge anyway.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Sharp
United States
Bloomingdale
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb