Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Cthulhu Wars» Forums » Rules

Subject: Is a Nightgaunt "killed" when it Abducts? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Boardgame Aesthete
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Suppose a Nightgaunt is in a battle with a Wendigo. It uses Abduct, and both are removed from the map.

The Abduct Spellbook says both units are Eliminated. The Cannibal Spellbook says "when an enemy unit is Killed." So, does Abducting the Wendigo just mean it can respawn in the same place?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Hobbs
United States
Wylie
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
AmadanNaBriona wrote:
Suppose a Nightgaunt is in a battle with a Wendigo. It uses Abduct, and both are removed from the map.

The Abduct Spellbook says both units are Eliminated. The Cannibal Spellbook says "when an enemy unit is Killed." So, does Abducting the Wendigo just mean it can respawn in the same place?


Per the FAQ in the Windwalker Rule book, only actual rolled kills will trigger the cannibalism spellbook. Kill like abilities such as abduct will not trigger cannibalism.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Holden
United Kingdom
York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for this but we couldn't actually find where this is stated in the Windwalker FAQ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Andersson
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Eliminations are not the same as a kill.

A kill is when a 6 is rolled in combat.

Eliminations are just the removal of a unit from play, either in or out of battle. Cthulhu's Devour is an elimination, not a kill. Abduct eliminates both the target unit and the Nightgaunt.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Boardgame Aesthete
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
davidryanandersson wrote:
Eliminations are not the same as a kill.

A kill is when a 6 is rolled in combat.

Eliminations are just the removal of a unit from play, either in or out of battle. Cthulhu's Devour is an elimination, not a kill. Abduct eliminates both the target unit and the Nightgaunt.


Actually, I believe Cthulhu's Devour is a kill. It counts for his spellbooks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dr Gosburo Coffin
Germany
Frankfurt am Main
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
AmadanNaBriona wrote:
Actually, I believe Cthulhu's Devour is a kill. It counts for his spellbooks.

Devour counts for the spellbooks because it is explicitly mentioned ("Kill and/or Devour ..."), but it is in fact an Elimination.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Hobbs
United States
Wylie
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Tigr wrote:
Thanks for this but we couldn't actually find where this is stated in the Windwalker FAQ?


In the Omega 3 Rulebook it's on page 37 second paragraph under the post battle abilities. It says:

OS3 Omega Master Rulebook wrote:
Note that many Post-Battle abilities are triggered by Kills or Pains. These are specific results, meaning that if an
Elimination occurs, it would not trigger one of those abilities. For example, Windwalker’s Cannibalism requires an enemy
Unit to be Killed, not Eliminated (such as via Devour, Abduct, etc.). Sleeper’s Demand Sacrifice does not protect against
Eliminations, only actual Kills, etc.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hector-Xavier de Lastic
Greece
flag msg tools
An even better example is to contrast it with the "Voonith" from Onslaught 3. Their special ability specifically adds a Kill to your battle results if you did not roll a Kill.

This Kill (as opposed to an Elimination generated by a spellbook like Abduct) would undoubtedly trigger Great Cthulhu's lesser Kill/Devour spellbook requirement as well as Windwalker's Cannibalism spellbook.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Arthur Petersen
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
it's your sister Cheryl!
badge
I work for Petersen Games. AMA
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Eliminations are not the same as Kills. Abduct only produces Eliminations, hence does not trigger Cannibalism.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.