Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Talon» Forums » Rules

Subject: Weapons question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jose Chavez
United States
Pasadena
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey everyone

I finally got to play my first game of this and I loved it, but i am pretty sure we played the weapons stuff wrong because we misunderstood the iconography.

We understood that during the power phase, every charge bar gets a red bar filled in, but we played the active charging and passive charging wrong. Essentially we switched it. One yellow bar during power phase but during the AP phase we charged one bar per weapon grouping.

my question is this, why is it that ships like Talon's "Unity" have 2 disrpuptor icons for each charge bar when compared to Terran's Zhukov ship that has two separate bars for the phaser weapon but only one icon on each side. This lead us to believe that active charging gave Unity two charges per charge action but Zhukov only gets one bar per charging action.

I really hope I made sense, I've been putting my brain through hoops trying to understand it and I feel pretty dense right about now
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris
United States
Tucson
Arizona
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's because each icon represents a weapon - the Talon ship has 4 disruptors total. The Unity will fire two disruptor shots off a single "mount"; so in total, facing forward at a target, it could squeeze off 4 shots on a given turn. The downside is that it will take longer to re-charge each mount outside of the power phase, since the bars are longer - and even though there's two weapons per bar, neither will be able to fire on a given side until the bar is fully charged.

The Zhukov on the other hand has only two phasers (one on each side), but they have considerably shorter charge bars - so recharging them mid-turn will be much faster (although in both cases you'll still have to cycle the red bar during the power phase).

Hope this helps.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rory Colling
United States
VICTOR
NY
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1 AP can charge 1 yellow box during each of the A-F Impulses.

At the end of each A-F Impulses there is a time to charge 1 red bar in each
weapon OR charge all the yellow boxes on each ship...of course the end of turn is the ONLY time you can charge a RED bar.


ADDENDUM:
That's 1 RED bar per weapons system and if no red bars need recharging then ALL Yellow bars are charged for that weapon system that does not need to charge any RED bars.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Niko
Canada
Calgary
Alberta
flag msg tools
[This space intentionally left blank]
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
zerstorer88 wrote:
At the end of each A-F Impulses there is a time to charge 1 red bar in each weapon OR charge all the yellow boxes on each ship...
You mean 1 red bar per weapons group or one yellow bar per weapon if all red bars for that weapons group are already charged, right?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jose Chavez
United States
Pasadena
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ze_German_Guy wrote:
zerstorer88 wrote:
At the end of each A-F Impulses there is a time to charge 1 red bar in each weapon OR charge all the yellow boxes on each ship...
You mean 1 red bar per weapons group or one yellow bar per weapon if all red bars for that weapons group are already charged, right?


is a weapon group a weapon bar or is a weapon group just that type of weapon. So the Talon ship would charge one red box on either charge bar since they are both Disruptors?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Niko
Canada
Calgary
Alberta
flag msg tools
[This space intentionally left blank]
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
omglazorspewpew wrote:
Ze_German_Guy wrote:
zerstorer88 wrote:
At the end of each A-F Impulses there is a time to charge 1 red bar in each weapon OR charge all the yellow boxes on each ship...
You mean 1 red bar per weapons group or one yellow bar per weapon if all red bars for that weapons group are already charged, right?


is a weapon group a weapon bar or is a weapon group just that type of weapon. So the Talon ship would charge one red box on either charge bar since they are both Disruptors?
A weapon group is each grouping of weapon boxes.
Examples:
A Talon CA has two disruptor weapon groups with two disruptors each.
A Terran CL has two weapon groups, one with one torpedo and one with one phaser.

The CA will charge one red box per weapon group, or if the red box is already full that group will charge two yellow boxes.
The CL will charge one red box per weapon group, or if the red boxes are already full one yellow box since each group only has one weapon.

Note that you can charge a red box on one weapons group and yellow boxes on another.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rory Colling
United States
VICTOR
NY
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
9. THE POWER PHASE
9.1 In General
The Power Phase occurs between Rounds—after Impulse F ends
but before the next Impulse A begins. The player with the Initiative
takes all of his Power Phase actions first. Remember to adjust the
Initiative before the Power Phase if the Change Initiative marker is
in place from Impulse “F”.
9.2 Charge Weapons
(9.2.1) Passively Charge Yellow Boxes: If no Red Box needs to
be marked off on a particular Charge Bar, the player may instead
mark off a number of Yellow Boxes on that Charge Bar equal to the
number of Weapons in that group.
EXAMPLE: A Talon BC has a Weapon Group of 2 Disruptors. The
Charge Bar is 1 red and 4 Yellow Boxes. If the Red Box is already
marked off, he may instead mark off 2 Yellow Boxes on that bar
since there are 2 Weapons in that Weapon Group.
(9.2.2) Charge Red Boxes: Every ship may mark off one Red Box
on every Charge Bar it has. This is the only time during the game
that a Red Box may be marked off.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rory Colling
United States
VICTOR
NY
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
6. POWER
6.1 Spending Available Power (AP)
One point of Power becomes available to a ship at various Impulses
throughout a Round based on its Power Curve and the Impulse chart.
The Impulses in which a ship has AP may or may not be Impulses
in which the ship moves. Remember that AP is spent before movement.
AP spent during the Impulse may impact movement in that
same Impulse.
When a point of Power becomes available to a ship, it can be spent
on one of the following actions:
• Enable a Side Slip – If this option is chosen a Side Slip marker is
placed on the ship. The next time the ship moves, it may choose
to Side Slip (see Movement and Turning). The next time the ship
moves (even if it is this same Impulse), remove the marker whether
the ship Side Slipped or not.

• Power Through a Turn – Move the Turn Radius marker 1 hex
closer. If the Turn Radius marker is only one hex away, it is
removed and the ship can turn the next time it moves (see 7.0).
If you are placing Turn Radius markers directly on the turning
ship, flip or replace the marker to indicate how many more hexes
are left in the turn.
• Charge a Yellow box on a Weapon Group Charge Bar – On one
of the Charge Bars on the ship, one yellow box may be marked
off. This is called Active Charging. A Yellow box may be charged
even if there are un-charged Red boxes.
• Charge a Battery – If the ship has a battery (not all races have
batteries), it may be marked off (10.1) if not charged. Batteries
do not normally start the game charged.
• Reinforce a Shield Arc – One Shield Reinforcement marker may
be placed on a specific Shield Arc of that ship (6.2). The letter on
the Shield Reinforce marker should match the letter of the current
Impulse.
• Change the Initiative – Place a Change Initiative marker on the
ship (4.2).
• Defend the Initiative – Place a Defend Initiative marker on the
ship (4.2).
• Transmit Power to Fighters – Carriers and Bases may transmit
AP to friendly Fighter Squadrons (Advanced Rule 12.2.2).
• Select New Missile Target – Ships with missile launchers may
select new targets for friendly missiles with AP (Advanced Rule
13.7).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rory Colling
United States
VICTOR
NY
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
3. SEQUENCE OF PLAY
3.1 Rounds, Impulses, and Turns
Talon is played in a series of Rounds. A Round is composed of six
Impulses (A through F) plus the Power Phase. An Impulse is composed
of two Turns—the Initiative Player’s Turn and the Second
Player’s Turn. All this is tracked on the Impulse Display (4.0) with
the Initiative and Round markers (4.1).
3.2 Sequence of Play Outline
Impulse A
Initiative Player Turn
• Remove any of his Shield Reinforcement markers that expire this
Impulse.

------------------------------------------------------------------
DO THIS NOW...6. POWER
6.1 Spending Available Power (AP)
--------------------------------------------------------------------
• Use any/all AP for each of his ships that receive AP this Impulse,
in any order.
• Move all of his ships that must move this Impulse, in any order.
• May fire any/all ships that have a fully charged Weapon Group.
• May attempt to Repair any ships with Critical Damage (See
Damage and Criticals).
Second Player Turn
The Second Player Turn is identical to the Initiative Player Turn
except replace the term Initiative Player with Second Player.
At the end of each Impuse check to see if the Initiative has changed.
Impulse B-F
Impulses B through F are conducted in the same manner as Impulse
A except different ships may have AP or movement.
Power Phase
Initiative Player’s Power Phase
• Charge one Red Box per Weapon Group or Passively Charge
Yellow Boxes (see Power Phase [6.0]) on all ships.
• Every Ship’s Power Curve may be adjusted up or down by 1 step.
Second Player’s Power Phase
Identical to the Initiative Player’s Power Phase except now the Second
Player can charge boxes and adjust Power Curves on his ships.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rory Colling
United States
VICTOR
NY
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Join me for drinks of dilithium at the Charge Bar!



Spock the intergalactic Moonshiner!gulp
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Why are we copying all of the rules from the rulebook into this thread?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rory Colling
United States
VICTOR
NY
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DaviddesJ wrote:
Why are we copying all of the rules from the rulebook into this thread?


IF ALL ELSE FAILS READ THE DIRECTIONS!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.