GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
10,470 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
13 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Empire of the Sun» Forums » General

Subject: Learning game question(s) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark
United States
Las Vegas
Nevada
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I just finished the first turn of my solo learning stumble-through game. I think I got most things generally right but probably borked a few things here and there.

Just wanted to ask: Is it normal for the Japanese to get many more plays/activations than the Allies on Turn 2? My initial Japanese hand had many 'Draw a Strategy Card' events and the Allies had none, with a few low OC cards. After the Allies had used up their last pass, the Japanese had 2-3 card plays that the Allies couldn't react to. I spent these last few cards just moving different units into better spots.

Also, according to the rules, you have to either play a card, commit it to a Future Offensive, or discard one. Can a player just discard anything he wants as his card play (e.g. a low OC card that he has nothing in supply/available for)?

And the Strategy card draw deck is only shuffled when instructed by a card that has been played, correct? Otherwise, it will be left alone and cards drawn off the top until a card comes up that tells me to shuffle the deck?



1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Benoit Larose
Canada
Montreal
Québec
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
Is it normal for the Japanese to get many more plays/activations than the Allies on Turn 2?


Yes.

Quote:
Can a player just discard anything he wants as his card play (e.g. a low OC card that he has nothing in supply/available for)?


Yes, but that is usually a mistake even for the AP in 42. For instance you can use a card to remove the SW Pac HQ to the turn track and bring it back on map with another. OC 1 cards are ideal for a quick surprise raid.

Quote:
And the Strategy card draw deck is only shuffled when instructed by a card that has been played, correct?


Correct.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.