Harsk's first power reads:
You may evade a bane you encounter that has the Animal or Vermin ( or Demon) trait; otherwise, add 1d4 ( 2d4) to your checks against it.
The first part (before the semi-colon) is pretty obvious: if Harsk encounters an bane with the Animal or Vermin (or Demon if it's checked) trait, he my evade it.
The second part is my question: If the bane isn't an Animal or Vermin, does he still get the 1d4 (or 2d4 if it's checked)?
I am also basing this off of this part of the rulebook (page 19):
For example, Harsk may evade a bane that has the Animal trait, but if he doesn’t, he must add 1d4 to his checks against it.