Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Mage Knight Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question about source freeze(Goldyx) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Cho han earl
South Korea
flag msg tools
Reference card reads
: ....On your next turn, gain one crystal of any basic color represented in the Source to your Inventory,....

What happens if there are no basic dice in the Source?

It was night round and there were two gold dice and two black dice.

'Cause there are no basic dice, does Goldyx lose the chance to get a crystal?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
JT Holderman
United States
Lancaster
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Well that is simply the luck of the draw. Unfortunate indeed.

If there are no basic die in the source, and the card states "gain one crystal of any basic color as represented in the source," then unfortunately the card is worthless until the source has a basic die in it.

You could hold the card until this happens, or use the card as a discard for boosting another card in your hand, or turn it sideways for your basic move, attack, influence, defense.

Hope this helps.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cho han earl
South Korea
flag msg tools
JHolderman06 wrote:
Well that is simply the luck of the draw. Unfortunate indeed.

If there are no basic die in the source, and the card states "gain one crystal of any basic color as represented in the source," then unfortunately the card is worthless until the source has a basic die in it.

You could hold the card until this happens, or use the card as a discard for boosting another card in your hand, or turn it sideways for your basic move, attack, influence, defense.

Hope this helps.


Thanks to your kind reply. Anyway, it's not a card.
It's a Goldyx's skill token, and I should have mentioned that.
Except for that, I agree with you.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Winkler
Canada
Montreal
Quebec
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Just a thought: the skill states on your next turn not "at the beginning of your next turn". Seems like if you could manipulate a die to show a basic color it might entitle you to draw the crystal later that turn. Thoughts?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bart Keys
Australia
flag msg tools
YodasStaff wrote:
Just a thought: the skill states on your next turn not "at the beginning of your next turn". Seems like if you could manipulate a die to show a basic color it might entitle you to draw the crystal later that turn. Thoughts?

I'd not thought of it that way, but it seems reasonable in the light of the text.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gabriel Honore
France
M√Ęcon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
From the rulebook, about interactive skills :
Quote:
Skill tokens with this symbol can be used once a Round, but their effect persists until the start of your
next turn. These Skills will affect other players during their
turns while they are active. When using this type of Skill,announce it loudly and put the token in the center of the
table. At the start of your next turn (or when the Round
ends, if that comes first), take it back and flip it face down. It
will be flipped up at the start of the next Round.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Sikati
Cameroon
flag msg tools
there is a clear rule about the beginning of the phase that states :
"half of the dice of the source should always been basic color dices. if not, roll again only the gold and/or black dices until you have an overall results of basics colors for half of the overall dices."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vexi
Finland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
masterpad wrote:
there is a clear rule about the beginning of the phase that states :
"half of the dice of the source should always been basic color dices. if not, roll again only the gold and/or black dices until you have an overall results of basics colors for half of the overall dices."

That's only at the beginning of the round, when the source has just been reset for that round. During the round, the dice showing basic colors can get rolled to black/gold at the end of turn after they have been used for various effects. So it is possible at some point of the round that there's no basic colors in the source. There are ways to manipulate the source to get a die to show basic color again (e.g. powered up Mana Draw or Mana Search night tactic).
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bob Boberson
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Hover Harder
badge
You hoverin'?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, when the source has become all depleted dice (gold at night, black during the day) it can really limit your options. This is particularly vexing when it occurs early in the round and you are forced to use tokens and crystals to get by for the remainder of the round. Source manipulating skills and cards like those described above are great for saving the day in this situation.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.