Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

It Never Snows» Forums » Rules

Subject: Allied Airborne Supply and recovery from its loss rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark Sautman
United States
Evans
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When I read 1.8 of the INS rules, it states, "Trace to the Division's Glider & Divisional Troops DZ/LZ. If this location is currently occupied by the Germans, it cannot be used."

So I am very early into the historical campaign. Allies did not defend the 1 Abn Div Glider & Div Troops LZ/DZ at A48.22 well enough and the Germans were able to storm in and stack 4 units on the space. When it was the Allied Turn, they surrounded the space with units, but did not roll well enough to dislodge the Germans, who invoked the no retreat option and ate an extra step loss.

When I read the above rule, it now appears that it does not matter that the Allies have lots of units and the 1 Para Bde DZ and 4 Para Bde DZ are open, all of their units on map A become out of supply and can no longer attack. Even when the German units go out of supply, the fact they are physically occupying the Glider & Div Troops LZ/DZ the Germans cannot be budged and they are too far north for Allied airstrikes. At this point it appears the only options would be to a) use all artillery that does not expend ammo on the spot and hope for some kills, b) hope the Polish airborne can free up the LZ/DZ (who would have to be supplied by the 82nd), or c) hope to survive long enough for the other units to work there way north (likely a very long wait). Is this correct?

Can they trace to the 82 Abn Div Gliders & Div Troops LZ/DZ using ferries or does it have to be their own Abn Div Gliders & Div Troops LZ/DZ?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Raine
Australia
flag msg tools
Honi soit qui mal y pense, motto of Sydney Uni Rugby Club, est. 1863
badge
General Sir John Monash, victor of Le Hamel
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Basically, yes. 1AB XX is no longer attack capable, on the RAW.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Strait
United States
Federal way
WA - Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct at this point you must force the Germans off the LZ/DZ in order to be back in supply.

Q- Can they trace to the 82 Abn Div Gliders & Div Troops LZ/DZ using ferries or does it have to be their own Abn Div Gliders & Div Troops LZ/DZ?

A- No they must use their own LZ/DZ. Same happens when the XXX Corps connects with the 504. The 504 uses the XXX Corps line of supply.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.