Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

T.I.M.E Stories: A Prophecy of Dragons» Forums » Rules

Subject: Magic in A Prophesy of Dragons -- NO SPOILERS! rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
al Cann
United States
Warwick
New York
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
How does Finnock Shepning's Chef's bouquet spell work?

He has 3 dice for Magic, and the spell takes off two shield/success. Is it:

(1) -- He has three dice on which to get the one success allowing the removal of 2 shields, or

(2) -- He removes 2 shields for each success he gets, or

(3) -- He removes 2 shields for each success per bluesse paid, or

(4) -- He rolls three dice, removes shields normally for each success but if he pays the bluesse and uses the spell, one of his successes removes 2 shields rather than 1?

Example -- Finnock uses the Chef's Bouquet spell spending a bluesse and gets 4 successes on 3 dice.

Option (1) above -- he removes 2 shields
Option (2) above -- he removes 8 shields
Option (3) above -- He removes 5 shields, but could have removed more had he paid more bluesse
Option (4) -- He removes 5 shields, but it would have been 4 had he not used the spell and the bluesse.

Thanks -- I hope I've made myself clear.

Albcann
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George
United States
flag msg tools
badge
You can take my game… when you pry my cold, dead fingers off the board!
Avatar
I'd guess #2, but can you share with us the exact text of the spell ability?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lee Fisher
United States
Downingtown
PA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Please see FAQ

Quote:
POD 6. How does Finnock's spells work?
Chef's Bouquet I think is also a typo, like Myrams, and it should read
1* or more: Remove 2 shields from your space.

Support is also not an action to use, so as long as Finnock has the brown tokens, he can support as many other characters as he wants in a round, as well as taking an action himself.


Official FAQ
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
al Cann
United States
Warwick
New York
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks ... I see that one or more successes with that spell equals 2 shields removed.

So now I go back to my question a little more -- I've cut and pasted my example from my original question.

Example -- Finnock uses the Chef's Bouquet spell spending a bluesse and gets 4 successes on 3 dice.

Option (1) above -- he removes 2 shields
Option (2) above -- he removes 8 shields
Option (3) above -- He removes 5 shields, but could have removed more had he paid more bluesse
Option (4) -- He removes 5 shields, but it would have been 4 had he not used the spell and the bluesse.

Option 2 is incorrect, but what about options (3) and (4)?

Thanks for the help.

Albcann
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Spirio
Austria
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1 is correct
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Wilson
United States
Nashville
Tennessee
flag msg tools
designer
Road Warrior coming soon!
badge
Probably looking for that piece I dropped...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So is there a default magic ability that you can cast in the event you do not have the proper ingredients? For the combat statistic, they say it is assumed that everyone carries some type of basic weapon. Is there a magic equivalent?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Spirio
Austria
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
what do you mean exactly?
you can this spells in combat, so if you do not what or can cast a spell, you fight normal with your combat skill
if you are in a magic Test, you don't use the spells, you just use your magic like in other tests
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Cooper
United Kingdom
Taunton
Somerset
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dwilson4391 wrote:
So is there a default magic ability that you can cast in the event you do not have the proper ingredients? For the combat statistic, they say it is assumed that everyone carries some type of basic weapon. Is there a magic equivalent?

There is no combat capable, magic ability equivalent to the assumed basic weapon.

Magic tests do use the receptacle's innate/trained ability.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.