Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Memoir '44» Forums » Rules

Subject: Are obstacles also terrain rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Daniel Blumentritt
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
They are listed in the terrain second as if they are a subcategory terrain, but then the rulebook also references obstacles stacked with terrain as if the two are separate and non-overlapping categories.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ron H
United States
Washington
Missouri
flag msg tools
I play Memor 44,Tide of Iron, and Axis and Allies:1942!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
They are considered terrain, except they can be placed on top of other terrain. When they are, defense factors do not stack, but you can place a sandbag on a village which would not allow the _1 for Infantry to stack, but would allow a unit in the same hex to ignore the first flag, something a village or city hex would not give.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lewis Karl
United States
Vienna
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Reading the basic rules will answer this question. On page 16

"When an obstacle is on a Terrain hex, the Battle dice reductions of the two are not cumulative. The best protection is the only
one that matters. For example, a bunker on a hill reduces the number of dice rolled by a tank attacking from a lower elevation
by 2, not 2+1 (bunker protection is 2, hill is 1). Another example: a sandbag on a village does not add anything to the village
protection (village defense is 2/1, sandbag defense is 1), though it does provide an additional feature: any unit in the village
may ignore the first flag rolled against it, due to the sandbags."
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Blumentritt
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, that section of the rules does not answer "Are obstacles considered a subcategory of terrain, or a separate category from terrain". It hints that they are separate, but all it really says is that an obstacle isn't a "terrain hex".

Quote:
They are considered terrain, except they can be placed on top of other terrain


So, in other words, "ignore terrain modifiers" ignores obstacle modifiers also?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Giulio
Italy
Scandiano
RE
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
Statalyzer wrote:
No, that section of the rules does not answer "Are obstacles considered a subcategory of terrain, or a separate category from terrain". It hints that they are separate, but all it really says is that an obstacle isn't a "terrain hex".

Quote:
They are considered terrain, except they can be placed on top of other terrain


So, in other words, "ignore terrain modifiers" ignores obstacle modifiers also?

That section may not make it clear. but page 13 of the rules begins the section of "Appendix 2 - Terrain". Fixed obstacles and Removable obstacles fall under this section so yes, they are indeed Terrain. The summary cards (published in the Air Pack) confirm this, listing the obstacles as terrain as well.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.