Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Welcome to the Dungeon» Forums » Rules

Subject: Ring of power rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Stephen Occhipinti
United States
Louisiana
flag msg tools
If you lose all hp and still have more monsters leftover to fight, can the ring of power add the 2 or less monsters to your Hp, essentially reviving you?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sam Cook
United States
Denton
Texas
flag msg tools
*beep*
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
I've always played it that your hero is instantly dead.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
v b
United States
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Can you write out the EXACT words on the ring of power card? I don't recall what it says...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthieu BONIN
France
Villeurbanne
flag msg tools
publisher
I no longer work for IELLO.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Donkler wrote:
I've always played it that your hero is instantly dead.
That's also how we do it. Basically, the order of the monsters do matter.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Occhipinti
United States
Louisiana
flag msg tools
Defeat Monsters with strength 2 or less. Add their total strength to your HP.

I don't feel the ring should revive you if you already lost all HP from a stronger monster.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Dursch
United States
Farmersville
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
But I thought you continued through the dungeon and if you come out of it with positive HP, you cleared it? I haven't played it yet, but just went over the rule book yesterday.

And yes, some of the items seemed... a bit confusing in their wording on the tile vs the description in the book (like the vorpal items)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J. Alan Hatcher
United States
Hendersonville
Tennessee
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Fyxsius wrote:
But I thought you continued through the dungeon and if you come out of it with positive HP, you cleared it? I haven't played it yet, but just went over the rule book yesterday.

And yes, some of the items seemed... a bit confusing in their wording on the tile vs the description in the book (like the vorpal items)


A review of the rulebook section for "Dungeon Phase" will imply that you are not "dead" as soon as your hit points hit zero.

The "Dungeon Phase" beginning on Page 7 specifically lays out how to go through the dungeon.

1. Calculate Total Hitpoints by using Adventurer Tile and Equipment
2. "One by one, reveal the cards from the Dungeon pile" and either:
a. Eliminate the monster with equipment and discard
b. Lose HP equal to the monster's strength and discard
3. Repeat this "until there are no more monsters in the dungeon."

THEN

4. "If the total Health Points you lost is fewer than the Health
Points with which you entered the Dungeon, you succeeded."
5. "If the total Health Points you lost is equal to or greater than
the Health Points with which you entered the Dungeon, you
did not succeed."

These last two are actually very confusing since it makes it sound like the potion and ring don't affect the "Health Points with which you entered the Dungeon."

To make matters worse the rulebook clarification for the Healing Potion says "This allows you to continue to draw monsters." which makes it sound like you do "die" when you hit 0 hps.

So basically the rulebook contradicts itself in a few places.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.