I'm not crazy. My mother had me tested.
Forgive me if I am being dim, but when the Intelligence Bureau in the East marker is activated it is placed on Turkey. But it doesn't seem to do anything if you leave it there.
I understand it gives +2 DRM for Coups in Persia, India and Afghanistan, but only if you move it to those squares.
I also understand that the optional rule 12.3 means that if it is in Turkey it will give +1 DRM to rolls against enemies in their "1" boxes.
So if you are not using the optional rule 12.3, is the marker useless if you leave it in Turkey?