Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Scythe» Forums » Rules

Subject: Gaining Resources from Encounter Cards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dave Gray
Australia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This one should be quick and easy.

When you have an encounter with a Character and as a result of option you choose you gain a resource where do you place the resource?

The rules imply such as they do with the Trade action that the resource is placed on a hex with a worker. However thematically you might place the resource on the hex where you had the encounter with the character. We went with the latter but it can make it difficult if your workers are nowhere near the new resource and you want to move your character to another spot for some reason. You could lose the resource as a result. We did however stick with it for the two games we have played so far.

So be be great to get some clarification - with the Charaacter or anywhere you have a worker?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jamey Stegmaier
United States
St. Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dave: Whenever you gain anything from an encounter (other than coins, which aren't kept on the board), you place it on the territory where the encounter is happening. This is noted on page 24 under "Benefit Location".
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rodney Smith
Canada
Montague
Prince Edward Island
flag msg tools
badge
Join us to learn and watch games played at youtube.com/watchitplayed
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The_Rooster wrote:
This one should be quick and easy.

When you have an encounter with a Character and as a result of option you choose you gain a resource where do you place the resource?

The rules imply such as they do with the Trade action that the resource is placed on a hex with a worker. However thematically you might place the resource on the hex where you had the encounter with the character. We went with the latter but it can make it difficult if your workers are nowhere near the new resource and you want to move your character to another spot for some reason. You could lose the resource as a result. We did however stick with it for the two games we have played so far.

So be be great to get some clarification - with the Charaacter or anywhere you have a worker?


Page 24 of the rule book, under "Encounter Benefit Location". Benefits are placed with your character where the encounter occurred.

Edit: Jamey, you're quick!!
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Reverend Uncle Bastard
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Unapologetic Continual Troublemaker!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The_Rooster wrote:
This one should be quick and easy.

When you have an encounter with a Character and as a result of option you choose you gain a resource where do you place the resource?

The rules imply such as they do with the Trade action that the resource is placed on a hex with a worker. However thematically you might place the resource on the hex where you had the encounter with the character. We went with the latter but it can make it difficult if your workers are nowhere near the new resource and you want to move your character to another spot for some reason. You could lose the resource as a result. We did however stick with it for the two games we have played so far.

So be be great to get some clarification - with the Charaacter or anywhere you have a worker?


The rules very explicitly state that any buildings or resources acquired during an encounter are placed in the location where the encounter takes place. They definitely do not imply that you put them anywhere you have a worker, as described on page 24 - Encounters.

Page 24:

Benefit Location: Any resources, structures, mechs, or workers you gain from the encounter card go on the same territory as your character (i.e. where the encounter took place).


Fantastic game!

Edit: ninja'd by official sources galore!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Reverend Uncle Bastard
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Unapologetic Continual Troublemaker!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The_Rooster wrote:
We went with the latter but it can make it difficult if your workers are nowhere near the new resource and you want to move your character to another spot for some reason. You could lose the resource as a result.


Keep in mind that your character can carry the resources with them if they move.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Gray
Australia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quick and resounding and evidently something I totally missed in the rules. Dunce hat in place for the rest of the evening.

Played correctly as it is so that's good... Still feel like a dumb arse though. Thank you!!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Laudermilk
United States
Orange County
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
reverendunclebastard wrote:
Edit: ninja'd by official sources galore!


LOL. It's almost a game unto itself to answer rules questions before Jamey can. Mostly Jamey wins.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Reverend Uncle Bastard
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Unapologetic Continual Troublemaker!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Team D20 wrote:
reverendunclebastard wrote:
The_Rooster wrote:
We went with the latter but it can make it difficult if your workers are nowhere near the new resource and you want to move your character to another spot for some reason. You could lose the resource as a result.


Keep in mind that your character can carry the resources with them if they move.
Now that was a rule I missed. I misunderstood and thought only mechs can carry resources.


Workers, mechs and characters can all carry resources! Got to keep them protected!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jamey Stegmaier
United States
St. Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, keep the reference cards handy for the first few plays. They summarize the differences between each of the units. Mechs are the only unit that can carry workers.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Reverend Uncle Bastard
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Unapologetic Continual Troublemaker!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jameystegmaier wrote:
Yeah, keep the reference cards handy for the first few plays. They summarize the differences between each of the units. Mechs are the only unit that can carry workers.


Just wanted to say thanks Jamey for this incredible game. The amount of thought, work, and most importantly love that went into it is obvious and greatly appreciated. If there is any justice in this world this game will be a runaway hit as word of its awesomeness spreads!
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.