Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Twilight Imperium (Third Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: invasion against the law rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ippokratis Gnostopoulos
Qatar
Doha
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Some races acquired some planets without ever landing there (using influence points). They received the planet card. The planets were still occupied by covered exploration tokens.

Then we voted this law that in this particular round no invasions are allowed.

Can these planet owners land in their planets? If some local hostile armies are revealed, does this count as an invasion? (and is -in this way- prohibited?)

thanks
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If a player ever gains possession of a planet without landing (such as via Diplomacy II, race abilities, etc), the domain token on the planet is discarded with no effect. So that law will not affect those planets in any way, since they will be friendly planets with no token.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Galton
Canada
Barrie
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Ippokratis

EDIT: Looks like Scott beat me to the punch...

pg 33 of rule book

If a player comes to control a planet without actually
landing forces there during a Tactical Action, the
Domain Counter is ignored and placed back in the
box with no effect.

Once your players took over the planet using influence points (was this via the diplomacy strategy card?) the token would have been discarded.

One thing to note: after rereading the rules about landing units on planets, an invasion would only occur if the planet already contained hostile ground forces. So landing units on a neutral planet and having the Distant Sun token contain enemy units would't be effected by this law as the landing already occured.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.