Recommend
 Thumb up
 Hide
109 Posts
1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5  Next »   | 

Wargames» Forums » General

Subject: Small unit tactical game systems (squad and platoon) and geomorphic maps rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Carl Fung
United States
Old Greenwich
Connecticut
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In my heyday I played a lot of Panzer Leader and ASL, playing a bunch of scenarios on the included geomorphic maps. When I started playing the Red Barricades, it was a revelation. I was actually fighting in the factories and the roads didn't seems to always meander neatly into the side of the map. This in some ways led me to the Tactical Combat Series where it only had historical maps (albeit a step up in unit level).

As I look out into the field of small unit tactical game systems (squads and platoons), I'm struck by how many of the existing and new/upcoming systems are still using geomorphic maps. From Panzer Grenadier to Band of Brothers to Conflict of Heroes to Lock 'n Load Tactical to Panzer (1st and 2nd ed) to Combat Command to Fighting Formations to Advanced Tobruk System to Combat Commander Series to Old School Tactical, and even the recently announced The Last Hundred Yards also all use geomorphic maps.

Is this supposedly a given to generically represent as many situations as possible? Is it more the system than historical ground that interests folks?

Besides TCS, HASL, the Historical ATS, and recent Old School Tactical: Stalingrad, are there any other squad/platoon game systems that use historical maps? Company level isn't included as there are many many games that use historical maps (from Grand Tactical Series, Day of Days: The Invasion of Normandy 1944, Operation Dauntless, and Streets of Stalingrad (third edition) among many others). Storm over Arnhem is a bit of an exception as its platoon scale, uses historical maps, and is a game system, but the game system isn't strict in that others have expanded to division scale (i.e. Breakout: Normandy).