I always place the token above the first circle as it doesn't make sense to have 1 piece of jigsaw at the start.
I haven't noticed the seemingly wrong rulebook picture though!
Thanks - I suspect you are correct. I had decided that having it start on the first part of the track meant that was the piece the Agents were working on which has the same effect - just that moving off the end of the track would be a win in that case. I think I'll do the same as you from now on as it's much clearer.
It seems the rules book picture is wrong - it also mentions something like "set it up on the appropriate part of the track" which is the first space in the accompanying picture.