Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Torres» Forums » Rules

Subject: HELP! Move Questions we Can't Figure Out rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tom Lopresti
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Hello All…We have read the rules several times, watched several teaching videos, and we still have 6 move Qs. We are pretty sure the answers to one or more will flow into the answers of some subsequent questions, but we didn't know how else to do this.

We thank you all in advance for your help…we really need it.

We’ve made up some graphics to help illustrate our Qs and we hope they help you understand what we’re asking, but if not, please let us know so we can clarify.

Q1) Refer to Question 1 Image – How many APs does it take for Knight A to get to position B? We think the answer is 1, but we don’t know for sure.

Q2-5 all refer to Question 2-5 Image AND assume the castle shown is made of a single row of orthogonal Castle Blocks stacked to the height shown.

Q2) With Knights B/D & The King in their places, can Knight A move through the castle under them to position E? If so, what is the cost in APs?

Q3) We know that Knight B can move down to position C for 1AP, but with the use of a card and with Knight D & The King in their places, can Knight B move down from level 3 to level 1 and then through the castle under Knight D & The King to position E? We know the first move costs 1AP, but if the second move is allowed, how many APs would it cost as it utilizes a card to execute?

Q4) With the use of a card, can Knight D move down and then under The King to position E? If so, how many APs would it cost?

Q5) Assuming Knight B is in its place and Knight D has just moved, we know that Knight B can move into what would then become position D, but we’re not sure how many APs it would cost. Can you clarify please?

Q6) Refer to Question 6 Image – Assuming a level 1 Castle exists within the red border, how many APs would it take for Knight A to move to position B?

Again, thank you so very much for your help…MOST humbly & sincerely…Tom and Jonna

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David B
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1) 2. Knight can enter any door of a castle and leave through any door on the same or lower level for one AP. But here the knight must drop one level in order to enter a door.

2) Yes. 1.

3) If a knight enters a door, it does not matter where other knights are located. B drops down to C for one AP, then enters that door and passes through the castle and leaves at E for one AP. So B can reach E for 2 APs and no card is needed.

4) D gets to E for one AP, again no card needed. . Again, D enters a door and leaves through another door on the same or lower level for 1 AP.

5) 2. Either it moves 2 spaces OR drop down a space and enter and leave through doors as described above. Either method is 2 AP.

6) 3. Knight drops down to ground. That's 1. Knight passes through the castle using doors. That's 2. Knight climbs back on to castle. That's 3
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lopresti
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
pfctsqr wrote:
1) 2. Knight can enter any door of a castle and leave through any door on the same or lower level for one AP. But here the knight must drop one level in order to enter a door.

2) Yes. 1.

3) If a knight enters a door, it does not matter where other knights are located. B drops down to C for one AP, then enters that door and passes through the castle and leaves at E for one AP. So B can reach E for 2 APs and no card is needed.

4) D gets to E for one AP, again no card needed. . Again, D enters a door and leaves through another door on the same or lower level for 1 AP.

5) 2. Either it moves 2 spaces OR drop down a space and enter and leave through doors as described above. Either method is 2 AP.

6) 3. Knight drops down to ground. That's 1. Knight passes through the castle using doors. That's 2. Knight climbs back on to castle. That's 3


Thanks LOADS David!

You have clarified so many things for us, and we are very, very grateful.

Now we'll be able to play today without any confusion at all...thanks to you.

MOST humbly & sincerely...Tom and Jonna
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David B
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
TomandJonna wrote:
pfctsqr wrote:
1) 2. Knight can enter any door of a castle and leave through any door on the same or lower level for one AP. But here the knight must drop one level in order to enter a door.

2) Yes. 1.

3) If a knight enters a door, it does not matter where other knights are located. B drops down to C for one AP, then enters that door and passes through the castle and leaves at E for one AP. So B can reach E for 2 APs and no card is needed.

4) D gets to E for one AP, again no card needed. . Again, D enters a door and leaves through another door on the same or lower level for 1 AP.

5) 2. Either it moves 2 spaces OR drop down a space and enter and leave through doors as described above. Either method is 2 AP.

6) 3. Knight drops down to ground. That's 1. Knight passes through the castle using doors. That's 2. Knight climbs back on to castle. That's 3


Thanks LOADS David!

You have clarified so many things for us, and we are very, very grateful.

Now we'll be able to play today without any confusion at all...thanks to you.

MOST humbly & sincerely...Tom and Jonna


No problem. Enjoy the game. And just so you know, I am not a Torres master; I was simply a castle building knight in a former life.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike G
msg tools
Q1 response
> here the knight must drop one level in order to enter a door.
Agree to response.

Q2/3 response
> If a knight enters a door, it does not matter where other knights are located.

Disagree with response. Answer depends on the interpretation of "occupied space". Here's our rationale for why this "does not matter" answer is incorrrect.

The game rules for the 2001 translation (no. 27 263 1) use the terms "space", "empty space", "castle", "tower" and "tower block". Examining uses we arrived at the following (bold for my emphasis)

1. "Each new knight is placed on an empty space (on the board on on a tower block)..."
Interpretation: a space with a tower block can be empty or occupied

2. "A knight may only be moved to spaces not occupied by the king of another knight"
Interpretation: Given #1 rule quote and interpretation, a knight may not move through a castle using any level of a tower block immediately under a knight.

One of the diagrams in the rules clearly supports this interpretation veruss David B's.


The knight is on top of a tower block. A knight of the same colour is on the ground to its left. A door is to its right with the king on the top of this two-block tower. The image clearly shows that the knight cannot move past/through the pieces on either side of it. This despite the fact +it has an open door which if the king was not there, it could use to get through the castle, as show in image D in the same Move a Knight section, which shows a knight passing through a door along two block pieces and down to the ground.


We believe the language of the two rules quoted clearly establishes that knights and the king occupy a board space you cannot pass through. Image C showing an inability to pass by the king-occupied tower block, despite an open door, reinforces this interpretation.

With the inability of knights to move through occupied spaces established, the other responses need to be similarly reconsidered.

Q2. No, knight cannot move to E
Q3. Not allowed
Q4. Not allowed
Q5. 2. Agree with response
Q6. 3. Agree with response
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.