Popular Tags: [View All]
Andrew Corbett
United States
Georgia
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
About us:

The idea for this post came to us from something I read in a magazine. I read about a programming tutor service run by beginners. This service despite the fact that the tutors weren’t very experienced and still learning programming themselves ended up being more beneficial for the students because the tutors could relate to beginners. Sometimes masters forget how difficult it is to learn fundamental concepts as a beginner. I bring this up because we have just finished our first tabletop Kickstarter project. So even though we are not masters we wanted to show everyone how we make games and be available to answer questions. Even if you are a total beginner the questions and concerns you may have were the same things we dealt with just a short time ago. Also a lot of you know more than us, I know we aren't the first to post a guide (there's one sticked above this post)I think it would be cool to bounce ideas off one another. So with that being said what we are about to show you may not be the “right” way to make a table top game for Kickstarter but it’s the way that worked for us. Heres our proof.

https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/andrewcorbett/shibbolet...

Narrative

In everything we have ever made, regardless of the medium, the story we are telling is the most important part of the exercise. This is where we suggest you start. Obviously gameplay is a big part of how table top games are judged but we believe constructing the narrative first allows you to create inspired gameplay that serves the narrative. A good example of this can be our game “Shibboleth.” The narrative for this game was inspired from two sources.