Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

The Battle of Five Armies» Forums » Rules

Subject: So in the end, Bilbo removes 4 damage and that's it? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark Turner
United Kingdom
Farnham
Surrey
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From how I understand it, Bilbo removes a token to remove 2 damage, and must spend another token to come back.

So, in total, since he has no leadership, and so has no other use, that's the same total of his contribution, correct? Two heals.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
He also has two Story cards tied to him: "Lucky Number" and "Ring of Invisibility".
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Van Deusen
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's actually six damage since he can disappear three times.

Edit: That's three Free units that remain on the board, which isn't nothing.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steffan O'Sullivan
United States
Plymouth
NH
flag msg tools
"All history is made up. Good history is made up by good historians; bad history is made up by the others." -David Macaulay
badge
"We talked a little more of Milesians and Firbolgs; but I do not write what he told me here, as it is at variance with things I have written already, as is often the case with legend, whence comes a pleasing variety." -Lord Dunsany
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
And it's actually more than he did in the battle in the book.
12 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
GodRob
United States
Gordonsville
Virginia
flag msg tools
While primarily used for killing vampires, a wooden stake to the heart is also highly effective against most other opponents.
badge
Can't we settle this over a pint?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You get him very early, usually turn 2, maybe even turn 1.
You can bring him in wherever he is needed.
You can bring him in wherever he is needed 3 times.

It's worth pointing out that he doesn't "heal" any damage already taken by an army, he prevents it when it would be inflicted.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Turner
United Kingdom
Farnham
Surrey
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Frank Overwood wrote:
It's actually six damage since he can disappear three times.

Edit: That's three Free units that remain on the board, which isn't nothing.


Aha, yes, three times. Good point!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.