GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
8,839 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
19 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

BANG!» Forums » Rules

Subject: Is using a barrel optional? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Robert Ahearne
United States
Ayer
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can you choose not to draw for your barrel?

The situation is: two outlaws, the sheriff, and a Ghost deputy remain (Valley of Shadows). One outlaw is in a very strong position with four life points, four cards in hand, and a number of cards in front of him. The sheriff is down to two life points and doesn't have any way to stop a bang (this is known since he was hit by a Gatling), but does have two +1 distance cards in front of him as well as a bang effect at any player. The other outlaw is down to one life point with no defensive cards in front of him except a Barrel.

The table is
weak outlaw
strong outlaw
sheriff
ghost deputy

It is the strong outlaw's turn. He has a Bang! but his gun is a Volcanic. It occurs to him he might as well kill the weak outlaw, because if he doesn't, the sherrif will and get the three card bounty. The weak outlaw agrees, so the strong outlaw plays a Bang! on the weak outlaw.

At this point, the weak outlaw doesn't want to draw for his Barrel. Must he?

Our current understanding of the rules is he has to. But, on the other hand, if he "forgot" to, and play proceeded, he could get away with not doing it. This seems a curious way to play the game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Broggi
United States
Southwick
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Based on the iOS implementation, it is optional.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Radosław Michalak
Poland
Bytom
flag msg tools
Gaming is for having fun. Fun requires clear rules.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
Barrel
The Barrel allows you to “draw!” when you are the target of a BANG!:
-if you draw a Heart card, you are Missed! (just like if you played a Missed! card);
-otherwise nothing happens.

"allows" doesn't sound like being mandatory.

Hint: apps are not the best source for rare situations.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
dV Giochi
msg tools
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi guys,

yes it's optional!

Have fun!

Martino Chiacchiera
Junior Editor
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Ahearne
United States
Ayer
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the answers!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.