Becq Starforged
United States
Cerritos
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
WARNING: Although I've made an effort to ensure that *this post* is spoiler-free (or rather, spoiler are marked with spoiler boxes so that you can decide what information you want to be exposed to), there are responses further down in the thread that do contain spoilers.

This is a Legacy work, and will evolve as time/new information permits.

I've tried to go through all of the posts by SeaFall's developers (Rob Daviau and JR Honeycutt) and list/summarize/paraphrase them here. Almost all of this is rules/game play clarifications and commentary. It's possible that a few "extras" were included in the mix.

I will try to update this list from time to time. At this point, it should be current up to clarifications dated 1/9/2017 (and beyond). If you see something I missed (particularly on other websites), feel free to either send the reference to me, or submit it below (preferably in a similar format, with a link reference).

PLEASE DO NOT TURN THIS THREAD INTO A RULES DISCUSSION OR DEBATE! If you'd like to discuss one of the topics reference below, follow the convenient link and discuss it there!


----------------------------------------
SETUP


Your province choice matters beyond just ship/token color. The province backgrounds are "more than just flavor text, but balanced." Reference: JR Honeycutt

In between games, the Advisor deck is shuffled. Reference: Rob Daviau

Before the Prologue game, you are instructed to read entry 0 of the Captain's Booke. You should read this after setting up the game, but right before the first turn (though reading it early doesn't matter much). Reference: Rob Daviau

When dealing out milestones during setup, deal out all that haven't been completed yet. Reference: Rob Daviau


----------------------------------------
MAP / COMPONENTS


The repair symbols printed on the board in home provinces are treated as "powers" in the territories they're in, or like structures that can't be destroyed if you want to think about it that way. They fall under the "pay a reputation token to use" blanket rule. So you can't repair in their home harbor against their will. The repair and other icons on islands are neutral, and anyone can use them (at least at the start of the campaign. Reference: JR Honeycutt and Reference: JR Honeycutt and Reference: JR Honeycutt

The sun, anchor, and flame icons on island sites are used with the explorer's map for exploration. Reference: Rob Daviau

At the start of the campaign, you can sail wherever you like. You just won't find anything interesting in the deeper waters. Yet. Reference: Rob Daviau

The layout of the explorer's map is decorative, not functional. It's a visually nice way to present a list of numbers. Reference: Rob Daviau

As stated in the rulebook, the SeaFall dice have the following faces: 1 strong success, 2 normal success, 1 weak success, 2 blank. Reference: JR Honeycutt

The various decks do not have separate discard piles; when a card is “dismissed” it is put back at the bottom of the deck (see the definition of “dismiss” on p.12 of the SeaFall rules). This means that if a milestone adds an event to the deck (which also causes the deck to be shuffled), events from earlier during that year can come back in later turns of the same year. Reference: JR Honeycutt


----------------------------------------
ADVISORS


All of an advisor's abilities are only active while they're the active advisor. (Note that the Smuggler is “sort of” an exception to this; see below for details.) Reference: Rob Daviau

The Smuggler's ability gives you a temporary boost to hold size. Goods bought by the smuggler stay on the ship after the smuggler is exhausted. As long as there is no change to your hold size, you do not lose these goods. You check hold capacity when you add to the hold or the hold size changes due to an upgrade/damage. Reference: Rob Daviau

The Woodsman's text ability grants a bonus for exploring an anchor site only, not the entire space in which the anchor site is located. Reference: JR Honeycutt


----------------------------------------
SAILING / MOVEMENT


When sailing from a harbor to open sea, you sail through the coastal waters space. Reference: Rob Daviau

You can move directly from one province to an adjacent province. Each province is a space that behaves normally - they are 1-2 spaces away from each other, as you'd expect looking at the board. Reference: JR Honeycutt

The text on one of the first four islands indicates that you should "Reroll all [weak success] rolled during endeavors here." On this island, you continue rerolling weak successes until there are no weak successes. Reference: Rob Daviau

A ship may transfer goods to other ships or warehouses before and/or after its sail action. "One trick is to buy goods on two different islands, then move your first ship to your second ship, transfer the good to the second ship, and then sail the second ship home with both goods. This chaining of sail actions allows a good to go twice as far in one turn than keeping them on their original ships." Reference: Designer Notes 10 (Sailing section)

You can’t split your sail action by performing your second action in between sailing one ship and the other. Reference: JR Honeycutt


----------------------------------------
STRUCTURES, SHIP UPGRADES, AND GLORY


Any time you acquire a building or upgrade you get a glory for it - as long as you still control it (i.e. it isn't stolen or destroyed). Reference: JR Honeycutt

You may have two of the same upgrade on the same ship. Reference: JR Honeycutt


----------------------------------------
ACTIONS AND DAMAGE


You must complete each action before starting the next. You can't do part of your Sail action before another action, then finish it after. You *can* move one ship, transfer goods (at land), then move the other ship (in order to move the goods farther, for example. Reference: JR Honeycutt

If a damage card notes a cost to repair beyond the repair action, that additional cost applies to the "free" repair granted by a Port structure. Reference: JR Honeycutt

When a ship is sunk, any damage cards are dismissed (along with ship upgrades). The ship, once rebuilt, will be “fresh and undamaged”. Reference: JR Honeycutt

When your ships are sunk, they are put back onto your province board. While there, they count as being "present" in the province for purposes of the repair rules (ie, they can be rebuilt there). Reference: Rob Daviau

"Damage is [applied] one at a time, with the player choosing how to take it (exhausting an upgrade vs. drawing a card) and where to apply it with each one. Rarely comes up but that’s the intent." Reference: Rob Daviau (via email)

When applying damage caused by various sources: "Damage is always applied to the flagship. That's a global rule." Reference: Rob Daviau (via email)

When resolving an endeavor, if a Captain's Booke entry causes damage enough to sink your flagship, you still resolve the entry completely first. Reference: Rob Daviau (via email)


----------------------------------------
RAIDING, AND ENMITY


Note that when you perform any sort of raid against another player, "ALL enmity held by the defender, no matter where, reduces the dice pool of the attacker." Reference: Rob Daviau

When you raid an island, you choose the site before rolling. When you raid a province, you choose after. (The province is considered one “site” with a number of different plunder options.) Reference: JR Honeycutt

If you fail to raid (no successes or your ship sinks), you don't place enmity. Reference: JR Honeycutt

If you successfully raid (1 or more successes and your ship survives) but are unable or unwilling to take plunder, you do not place enmity tokens. (You may choose not to plunder even if you roll enough successes.) Reference: JR Honeycutt

However, if you do not choose a plunder option and place enmity, the raid is considered unsuccessful, and you score no glory. "Let's say that you gain neither glory nor plunder. That the definition of a successful raid requires plunder. This is a little loophole that [I'd like to close]." Reference: Rob Daviau (via email)

Ships may defend against a raid in a region they control. So, if you have your ships in your home harbor, and someone raids your province, he would lose two dice as your defending ships act as support ships and remove a die each from his raid. Upgrades that “add a die when supporting” would subtract the bonus die when supporting defensively. Reference: Rob Daviau Reference: JR Honeycutt

When you raid a site, you place your enmity on the site (square) raided on the island or province. Other sites can still be raided. Reference: Rob Daviau

The enmity mechanism should make it difficult within one game to have a sustained 2v1 attack. It should be near impossible game over game to do that. At least not in any way that profits the attackers. Reference: Rob Daviau

If you raid a player at least as many of that player's enmity tokens as the plunder value of your target, you will not place your own enmity tokens and the raided site will still be available for raiding. Reference: Rob Daviau

You can choose to raid provinces starting in game 1 (not in the prologue). Reference: Rob Daviau

A thing can only be raided once a year, because of how enmity tokens work. (This is only true when an enmity token is placed on the site; not when the victim's enmity is returned. Reference: JR Honeycutt but see other entries in this post.

In combat, your support ship [normally] lends an extra die but cannot take damage. The Fearless upgrade lets you "transfer" a damage from your lead ship to your support ship, effectively giving your lead ship an extra HP in that combat. Reference: JR Honeycutt

Additional discussion regarding raiding effects when returning another player's enmity. Reference: JR Honeycutt and Reference: JR Honeycutt and Reference: JR Honeycutt

Regarding raiding fields in a province, the rules state, "Field: Take gold from the supply equal to the gold value of the field and add it to your vault. This field will not produce gold during the next winter’s harvest." The second part of that rule, should read "This field will not produce gold during the next winter's harvest, if it has an enmity token on it during the Harvest phase." (This means that if you have a player's enmity in your At War box when you raid their province, you return that enmity before placing your own enmity. If you do not place any enmity as a result, then the field will produce as normal. Reference: JR Honeycutt
Outstanding question for Rob: Could you give us some insight as to why retaliatory raids (at least with respect to fields) don't penalize the raided player the same way as non-retaliatory raids?

Permanent enmity stickers are not limited. Use proxies as necessary. Reference: Rob Daviau Reference: Rob Daviau (via copied email)


----------------------------------------
MILESTONES AND END OF TURN / YEAR / GAME


When you fail an endeavor, the rules indicate that your turn ends. However, the rule is intended to be that your actions are over, but you still perform steps 4 and 5 of your turn sequence. Reference: Rob Daviau

Milestones are destroyed after they are claimed. Reference: Rob Daviau

If two players tie for campaign glory at the end of the game, the formerly lower-ranking player chooses which rank to take. Confirmed: if two players tie for campaign glory at the end of the game, the formerly lower-ranking player gains the higher rank. Reference: JR Honeycutt Reference: JR Honeycutt

In the prologue game, resolving the last milestone ends the game immediately (the game does not continue through the end of the round as in subsequent games). Reference: Rob Daviau

In the prologue, since there is no campaign glory, use game glory instead. Reference: JR Honeycutt

At the end of the Prologue, the permanent changes are that the islands get named, any explored sites on the islands get marked with the appropriate sticker, and title cards are assigned. No enmity is permanent, no ships are upgraded, no advisors are kept, no bonus for the winner, no advisors are trained, no glory is recorded. Reference: Rob Daviau

After the prologue, only step 7 of the end game steps (assign titles) is triggered. No glory is recorded for the Prologue (the first entry in the historical entry is for the first real game, not the Prologue). Reference: Rob Daviau

You receive Fortune and Reputation at the start of the game only, and don’t gain additional each winter. The only way you gain either during the game is if an effect specifically tells you to (or if another player pays you to use your powers. Reference: JR Honeycutt


----------------------------------------
CAPTAIN'S BOOKE, UNLOCKS, AND SPOILER INFO


"There is an enormous and possible insurmountable advantage to knowing spoilers". Reference: JR Honeycutt

"These endeavors in the captains booke do not afford additional glory - instead, they're used to determine what happens at the site during the resolution." Also, advisors that increase the glory award of endeavors don’t apply to these endeavors. Reference: JR Honeycutt Reference: JR Honeycutt

When instructed to "take X goods for ship(s)", you may put distribute the goods among your ships in the space. Reference: JR Honeycutt

When you discover a site that produces a good, you do not place a good on that site unless the Captain’s Booke tells you to do so. Reference: JR Honeycutt

Any time you add a new card to a deck, shuffle the deck. For example, new event cards "revealed" by milestones are shuffled into the event deck. Reference: JR Honeycutt

Whether or not players look at newly unlocked cards before adding them to decks is not addressed in the rulebook and is done according to the preference of the players. Reference: JR Honeycutt

When resolving "unlock" milestones, the unlock can occur immediately or at the end of the game, as directed by the milestone's entry in the Captain's Booke. Reference: JR Honeycutt

"An Island Revealed" spoiler:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
This milestone should be logged and destroyed after it is completed, as should any milestone after the prologue.
Reference: JR Honeycutt

“+1 Glory” sticker spoiler:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
When you place this sticker, it triggers immediately if the stated conditions are already satisfied. (Note: I’m extrapolating/generalizing slightly on the actual quote linked here to account for several uses of this sticker.)
Reference: JR Honeycutt

“+2 Gold” sticker spoiler:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
This sticker only applies when the player pays gold for the advisor, not reputation, and does not affect the gold value of the card for end game purposes.
Reference: JR Honeycutt Reference: JR Honeycutt

Rule 16 spoiler:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
Ship-to-ship combat results EXACTLY like regular combat, except for a few specific changes:

If the combat happens in a land territory, nothing in that territory (its buildings, garrisons, etc) is considered in any way in the combat. The only thing that matters is whether or not the attacker or defender owns the territory.

So, follow the normal raid rules, except:
The garrison is (instead of the island/colony garrison) the sail or guns value of the defending ship (defender's choice)
The defense value of the "site" is the defending ship's hold value
If the attacker controls the territory, add a die to the die pool. If the defender controls the territory, subtract a die from the die pool.
Reference: JR Honeycutt (and Rob)

Box 1 Spoilers:
Spoiler (click to reveal)

When choosing benefits due to your title, you may select a particular benefit multiple times. Also, the number of benefits is rounded in that player’s favor (1 glory behind = 1 benefit). Reference: JR Honeycutt Reference: JR Honeycutt

When you discover an island, you gain glory for the endeavor and for the island (ie, the glory for the column you explored). Reference: JR Honeycutt

“Dangerous Waters and Atolls never give glory unless explicitly stated in the Captain's Booke.” Regarding uncharted waters cards, "no glory for that andyou cannot spend fortune". Reference: JR Honeycutt Reference: Rob Daviau (via email)

Island A spoiler:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
The dangerous waters value on the inset contradicts the island sticker for the board. Island A should have a dangerous waters value of 3 (as on the inset), not 4 (as on the hex sticker).
Reference: Rob Daviau (via copied email) Reference: JR Honeycutt


Box 2 Spoilers:
Spoiler (click to reveal)

Creating a colony uses the “Build” action from the Builder’s Guild. Reference: JR Honeycutt

You keep colonies that you control from game to game. They start each game inactive, and cost 6 gold to re-activate. A colony's field doesn't generate gold before it is active, or during the same winter it is activated. A colony can take a good on the turn it is activated. (The winter sequence specifies the order of these events.) Reference: Rob Daviau (via email) Reference: Rob Daviau (via email)

Enmity does not increase the cost to activate a colony. Reference: JR Honeycutt

”You're allowed to look at both sides of a colony card at any time, of course, and it's not required that you keep inactive colonies face-down in front of you. However, it's a useful visual tool for other players to quickly scan and see what you control that is active or inactive, so I recommend that you do it.” Also, Reference: JR Honeycutt

“You do not receive any part of the benefit for an inactive colony, including harvest.” Reference: JR Honeycutt Reference: JR Honeycutt


Box 3 spoilers:
Spoiler (click to reveal)

An endeavor required by tomb exploration awards glory as normal for endeavors (regardless of the test type).
Reference: Rob Daviau (via email)

"Yes, Tombs are land sites." (Context includes exploration endeavors.) Reference: JR Honeycutt

Uncharted waters cards do not count as exploration endeavors.
Reference: JR Honeycutt

Relics, once acquired, must always be carried on one of your ships (they can't be stored at your province.) Don't destroy "lost" relics; it's possible for them to return. Reference: JR Honeycutt
Reference: JR Honeycutt

Certain tablets specify that they can only be used when a particular game resource falls to zero. These tablets can literally be used any time that condition is met, even in the middle of a transaction, including:
a) in the middle of a single purchase (ie, you can pay part of a cost, then use the tablet to provide additional resources to pay the remainder of the cost)
b) partway through resolving a die roll (ie, modify the roll results, then use the tablet, then modify the results further)
c) during the end of game sequence
Reference: Rob Daviau (via email)
Note: I have not seen a clarification regarding whether or not you can use the tablet that requires you to have no money before the first harvest. I think the consensus is that it should not be allowed to be used then; only when you spend down to zero. YMMV.

The tablet that allows your ship to teleport can be used during other player's turns, even after they declare a raid against you. (NOTE: only reference the "Q3" spoiler in this link; the others are Box 5+ spoilers!)
Reference: Rob Daviau (via email)

A curse that resolves at the end of sailing is resolved before transfer of goods. Reference: JR Honeycutt

Curses are not carried over from game to game. Within a game, they aren't removed like normal damage cards; they can only be removed by doing what it says on the card, or by some other effect specific to curses, or by your ship sinking. Reference: JR Honeycutt Reference: JR Honeycutt


Box 4 spoilers:
Spoiler (click to reveal)

When you conquer a colony, you replace that player's colony marker with your own, or it becomes inactive. Reference: Rob Daviau (via email)

Conquering Ker works like conquering other colonies: you remove dice for enmity and garrison, then need to score six successes. Reference: Rob Daviau (via email)

If you do not have a colony marker for Ker, Ker becomes abandoned. Place Ker under it's island inset, and any player can activate it by moving to the island and placing a colony marker. Reference: Rob Daviau (via email)


Box 5 spoilers:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
Although Tortuga's special ability (place permanent enmity) doesn't specify that it only applies 'here', that is the intention. Reference: JR Honeycutt (via email)

If you destroy the Temple of Arados (structure), you place 1 enmity sticker, not 10. Reference: Rob Daviau (via email)

Raiding a temple (structure) rebuilt by another player costs 10 enmity, which requires having that player's enmity tokens or an enmity discount. Reference: Rob Daviau (via email)

Spoiler regarding tablet secrets:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
Officially, you must own a tablet to make use of any hidden information. By group agreement, it's no big deal to use hidden information that you have previously seen. Reference: Rob Daviau (via email)
It seems that Rob has rethought this. His clarification is now that you may use hidden information you've previously viewed.Reference: Rob Daviau (via email)


Spoiler regarding information on advisor backs:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
Advisors with hidden wave symbols on their backs count as the charts you need to explore for the last island. Treat this as a normal chart that you can play from your council room. These charts are not dismissed after use. Reference: Rob Daviau (via email)Reference: Rob Daviau (via email)


Regarding cryptic milestone requirements (discover a secret), the Captain's Booke will tell you when you have discovered a particular secret. No reference.

(Hidden tomb map information spoiler)
Spoiler (click to reveal)
When exploring a tomb, you can pick any entry number on the tomb map in the back of the Captain's Booke. (Some entries might be less obvious that others.) Reference: Rob Daviau (via email)


Some events may require knowledge of hidden information to resolve. In such cases, you should
Spoiler (click to reveal)
"Shine the light on all guild members owned by all players when the event resoles. The highest number is the highest rank. This may expose new members of the society." This is done in view of all players. Reference: Rob Daviau, via JR Honeycutt Reference: JR Honeycutt



Event ? Spoiler:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
(Ghost ship – don’t know the letter off hand) When determining distance, use normal ship movement rules (including the coastal waters space) to determine the shortest path.
Reference: JR Honeycutt

Market upgrade sticker spoiler:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
If you gain the ability to sell a good of a particular type in addition to your normal limit on selling goods, you use the normal “goods site” sticker to show this.
Reference: JR Honeycutt

Mystery site sticker: Reference: JR Honeycutt

Rule 6 spoiler:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
When using a Portal of the Ancients, you don't need to do a dangerous waters check at the exit portal, only on the entrance portal. That means a trip out from the initial portal doesn't need a dangerous waters check. Reference: JR Honeycutt



----------------------------------------
GENERAL INFO


When resolving ties, the rules note that ties are broken in favor of the player with the lower title. “A good way to know if an event is "good" or "bad" is to ask the player with the highest rank if they want it to happen to them. If their face turns green, it's probably supposed to happen to them.”
Reference: JR Honeycutt

For those considering a second play-through, either in at the same time or after the first: "Yes, you will have a strategic advantage in the second game. It will be a bigger advantage the farther along you are in the [first] game." Reference: JR Honeycutt

For those who wish Plaid Hat would just shut up and take their money ... good news! http://www.plaidhatgames.com/store/5476 Reference: JR Honeycutt

"While I do not have a specific date, we intend to start fulfilling US preorders in late August/early September. After that, it should reach retailers in a moth or so. again, these are all rough estimates." Reference: email from Plaid Hat Games Support 7/18/2016 (no link available) Due to delays in customs, pre-orders are expected to ship around the first week in October. Reference: Plaid Hat Games

For what it's worth, the game can be played as a 2P game - it just becomes a race for points rather than a friction-filled competition as resources will be plentiful (Rob's words). Reference: JR Honeycutt

There are no stickers in the Captain's Booke per se but some entires might lead you to stickers, boxes, etc. That's about as much as Rob will share. Reference: Rob Daviau

There are plans to do an instructional video, probably closer to launch (but no specifics are available yet. Reference: Rob Daviau

The goods cubes are 8mm on each side. Reference: Rob Daviau

The amount of "take that!" in the game will vary from group to group, but raids are intended to be tactical strikes, rather than ongoing wars, and the mechanics tend to enforce that. Reference: Rob Daviau

There will be some form of play after the campaign is over. There are no further specifics available. Reference: JR Honeycutt Reference: Rob Daviau Reference: JR Honeycutt

Despite being described as a "4X" game, there is no player elimination in SeaFall Reference: Rob Daviau

There are no binding agreements. You can do anything you want. The rep token is in exchange for using something with their permission for that turn. It proscribes no additional obligation or cost. No need for more rules! Reference: JR Honeycutt

It is feasible to play the Prologue as a "demo game" and avaoid marking the board or explorer's map, however you'll have to remember what has been explored and you will hear the same Captain's Booke entries each time. Reference: Rob Daviau

If you see a reference to guns (in the designer notes, for example), assume this refers to the raid value of a ship. Reference: Rob Daviau

Informational note: Province chests are 139x70x52mm in size. Essentially anything that can hold standard 2.5 x 3.5" playing cards and some plastic ships should work. Reference: Rob Daviau


----------------------------------------
AND NOW FOR SOMETHING COMPLETELY DIFFERENT


I get +1 glory in my first campaign, but only if I name an advisor "Bob the Traveler". Reference: JR Honeycutt

The more players, the more cutthroat, mostly because the number of resources available in the world is a static number (it doesn't scale to number of players). Reference: JR Honeycutt

Rob Daviau did improv and sketch comedy in college, and goes "theater nerd" from time to time. Reference: Rob Daviau

SeaFall will be released in 2015. Reference: Rob Daviau

JR hates to be a bubble-burster. Reference: JR Honeycutt

JR's wife can't WAIT to play SeaFall - she purposely avoided all the playtesting so she could play the campaign. Reference: JR Honeycutt

This game includes florid, overwrought prose and Fancy Words™. Thou shalt embraceth this truth. Reference: Rob Daviau

There is no rule against shouting "Release the Kraken" while playing SeaFall. Reference: Rob Daviau
  • [+] Dice rolls
Keith Pishnery
United States
Lakewood
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Re: The Captain's Log (compilation of rules clarifications and game play information from SeaFall's developers)
Looks great. Only suggestion would be to divide into sections. And move humorous stuff to its own trivia section. Mostly so it will be easier to reference.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Martell
New Zealand
Lower Hutt
flag msg tools
mbmb
Re: The Captain's Log (compilation of rules clarifications and game play information from SeaFall's developers)
Sections are a great idea. "Prologue", "Advisors", "Enmity" and "Endeavours" seem like a good set to begin with. Also I suggest not including any information that has been superseded (even by strikeout) because it could confuse people. I like the additional flavour you've given it and combining it into a "Trivia" heading is a great idea.

You've done a really great job, Becq!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
JR Honeycutt
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: The Captain's Log (compilation of rules clarifications and game play information from SeaFall's developers)
Great job! Thanks for doing this. I only wish there was some more sweet fan fiction here.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Becq Starforged
United States
Cerritos
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: The Captain's Log (compilation of rules clarifications and game play information from SeaFall's developers)
Regarding sections, I have no idea what you're talking about. It looks divided into sections to me...

Regarding strikeouts ... well, I think even the clarifications that were later re-clarified have value. So I'm thinking of leaving them in ... at least for now.

Also, JR: You'll notice that I carefully didn't put in the quote about how you prefer exploring "the great unknown" with your sailors over exchanging sultry glances with Bob! You're welcome! Reference: JR Honeycutt

6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Keith Pishnery
United States
Lakewood
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Re: The Captain's Log (compilation of rules clarifications and game play information from SeaFall's developers)
Great! Id make the section heads bold and maybe call out any of the lingering questions somehow (doesn't seem like there are many, though?), maybe by making them red.

Also: whenever someone wants to submit something, please include a link directly to thread.

This is fantastic to see all in one place. I had been keeping a text file of some bits but nowhere this complete. I'll doublecheck to see if I have anything you don't.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Todd France
United States
flag msg tools
IF ONLY I had a plan...
badge
The lesser of two evils?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: The Captain's Log (compilation of rules clarifications and game play information from SeaFall's developers)
Very nice! I assume you're planning to keep this thread updated after the game is available, so I'll get it in here before it can become an issue:
Please don't forget to
Spoiler (click to reveal)
use spoiler tags diligently.
I assume you've seen the Pandemic Legacy FAQ for a good example of how to do this well.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Keith Pishnery
United States
Lakewood
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Re: The Captain's Log (compilation of rules clarifications and game play information from SeaFall's developers)
My guess is that we will eventually have a FAQ Wiki here like Pandemic Legacy and Risk Legacy and this is the start of collating that information.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Martell
New Zealand
Lower Hutt
flag msg tools
mbmb
Re: The Captain's Log (compilation of rules clarifications and game play information from SeaFall's developers)
I think it is worth making the Prologue section a separate section at this point.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Becq Starforged
United States
Cerritos
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: The Captain's Log (compilation of rules clarifications and game play information from SeaFall's developers)
Updated with clarifications made through today. If you see any I missed (or clarifications from other sources), feel free to let me know!
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
shumyum
United States
flag msg tools
badge
♒♒♒♒♎♒♒♒♒ sloooowly sinking
Avatar
Re: The Captain's Log (compilation of rules clarifications and game play information from SeaFall's developers)
Thank you for your original post, your edits and your recent post.

I had assumed that by subscribing I would be notified of edits, but I was wrong so your recent post got me back here (I'm trying to avoid all other post for fear of spoilers).

Very helpful! Again: thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank Pelkofer
United States
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: The Captain's Log (compilation of rules clarifications and game play information from SeaFall's developers)
Becq wrote:

Confirmed: if two players tie for campaign glory at the end of the game, the formerly lower-ranking player gains the higher rank. Reference: JR Honeycutt


Looking at the reference, I don't see anything in JR Honeycutt's post that would supersede the rule on p21 that says:

Re-assign titles to players based on their campaign glory total. If there is a tie in campaign glory, the player with the least prominent rank in this game chooses which title they want, then the next least
prominent title, etc.

Am I missing something? If not, I think you should delete that line from the errata. The rules are clear as printed.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Becq Starforged
United States
Cerritos
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: The Captain's Log (compilation of rules clarifications and game play information from SeaFall's developers)
countertorque wrote:
Am I missing something? If not, I think you should delete that line from the errata. The rules are clear as printed.

It turns out I mixed up the link. I've got it pointing to the right place now. Take a look! If you still disagree, or if you see any other entries that don't match up, let me know.

To be honest, I agree that the rules (on that point) seem clear as printed; but I tried to grab as many rules clarifications (and in some cases, errata) from Rob and JR as I could, and that was one of them. (Note that some of the newer clarifications involve spoilers, and I haven't collected information from them yet.)
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: The Captain's Log (compilation of rules clarifications and game play information from SeaFall's developers)
When the rulebook is clear, I'm going to follow what the rules say rather than what a developer posts on BGG. It's not that unusual for someone to forget the rules that they wrote. If they publish an official errata, rather than just some postings on BGG, I would follow those instead.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank Pelkofer
United States
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: The Captain's Log (compilation of rules clarifications and game play information from SeaFall's developers)
Becq, first of all thanks for pulling all of this together. I'm very nervous about getting something wrong that sends my group off on the wrong track for 3-4 games before we notice. Your effort in pulling all of this info into 1 place makes me a lot more confident that we'll play by all of the rules.

I checked the updated link. JR certainly said that. It seems to clearly contradict the printed rules. I noticed that you and at least one other person asked for a clarification and he never responded. So, I'm going to do as David suggests and pretend like that never happened. I think the rules are clear.

I also noticed that JR made another post in that thread that says

Quote:
Once you've assigned players titles, they do things in the orders set by those titles. So if it's "highest glory first" that's most prominent to least prominent.


It's hard to see what this is in response to. I think I'm also going to pretend that never happened. I completely agree with your description of how to break ties in that thread and I think the rules are clear.

Thanks again!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Becq Starforged
United States
Cerritos
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: The Captain's Log (compilation of rules clarifications and game play information from SeaFall's developers)
I think I'll be recommending to my group that we stick with the rules-as-written approach on this issue, too, since the rules do seem clear here. But as far as capturing the developer's clarifications, the compilation is what it is...
5 
 Thumb up
0.10
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Becq Starforged
United States
Cerritos
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: The Captain's Log (compilation of rules clarifications and game play information from SeaFall's developers)
Updated to Oct 10, 2016. Feel free to let me know if you catch any clarifications I've overlooked.
7 
 Thumb up
5.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Becq Starforged
United States
Cerritos
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Quick update for a couple of non-BGG links I didn't want to forget about.

One of them is the result of an email, which I'll quote below to provide a link reference (Thanks, Patrick!):

Quote:
------------ Forwarded Message -----------
From: RobDaviau
To: PBrennan
Date: 2016-11-07 07:50:58
Subject: Re:Seafall - Province Raid Question


PBrennan wrote:

If you raid a province and roll just 1 success, but everything on the province board requires 2 successes or more to plunder, what happens? The answer given is that you get 1 glory for a successful raid but don’t get to plunder, therefore no enmity goes out. Correct so far?


Let's say that you gain neither glory nor plunder. That the definition of a successful raid requires plunder. This is a little loophole that I should've found but didn't.


PBrennan wrote:

The further question (to which there seems to be no official answer yet) is, because the province site rules say “after a successful raid, you may plunder one site on the province board”, can you choose not to plunder even if you’ve rolled enough successes to plunder an eligible province site, in order to gain glory without placing enmity?


No! This would create the raid engine you described, which seems unthematic and not fun.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Becq Starforged
United States
Cerritos
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, this may well be updated to Nov 10. As always, let me know if you see something I overlooked. Note that to avoid spoilers for myself, some comments are listed based on their subject or spoiler tags, so I haven't paraphrased them in this document.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Filpus
United States
Bellevue
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for doing this!

You've got some broken spoiler tags in the Event ? block.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Becq Starforged
United States
Cerritos
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Fixed; thanks for pointing it out!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Filpus
United States
Bellevue
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Permanent enmity stickers are not limited. (https://twitter.com/robdaviau/status/801486112724287490)
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Albert
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I have copied and pasted the contents of an email I received from Rob Daviau concerning box 1. This confirms one of the component ambiguities. It also answers the question about permanent enmity that was previously confirmed already.

Spoiler (click to reveal)
1) One of the islands (the one that has dangerous waters) has conflicting info on what the number actually is. The small island sticker has '4' printed. However the sticker that lists the sites has a text box that says this value is '3'. (Jr Honeycutt did address this question on the forums and believed it was supposed to be '3' but did not give a conclusive answer). What should the value be?

It should be a 3.

2) Is permanent enmity meant to be limited to the stickers provided on the sheet? We have one player that has only six stickers left and we are only 7 games into our campaign. Can we substitute with some other 'print and play sticker' or is this a design mechanic where they should lose glory every time they would otherwise need to use one?

There is no limit to permanent enmity stickers. Use a print and play or marker or other way to track it.

Sorry about the delay in emailing.

Rob

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ira Fay
United States
New Haven
CT
flag msg tools
designer
:-)
badge
Fay Games logo
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for creating this great resource! I wish I had found it sooner.

I have several email replies from Rob Daviau, and wanted to share them here. A few duplicate the questions above (I hadn't found this page), but I'm including them anyway so you can see double confirmation.


Email exchange with Rob Daviau (spoiler tags added for this post) wrote:
> 1) How are ties broken for event cards, or other situations? We ruled
> "in favor of lower title" to go along with the other catchup mechanics.

Yes, those are the global tie breakers

> 2) Advisors that give 12 discount for a specific good + appellation that
> allows any good to be used as a discount while building/upgrading:
> does the combo work? I think yes. You spend a wood, get 12 discount,
> and use it to build a non-wood structure due to appellation.

Yeah. It’s powerful.

Spoilers from Box 2 (maybe it was Box 1):
Spoiler (click to reveal)
> 3) Restless Bones event - Can a ship give support? We ruled no.
> But the owner does get to pick which ship gets attacked.

Correct.

> 4) ship raids: if you get 1 success and deal damage, which they prevent
> by exhausting an upgrade, you still give them 1 enmity, right?

Yep!

> 5) The specialist (lets you trade 1 good for 2 from the island). Where does the 1 good end up?

The goods you spend go back into the supply of goods.

> 6) For the uncharted waters, many cards have you make an explore endeavor.
> Do you get a glory if you get at least 1 success? It's a little strange,
> since you might need 3+ successes to get an actually good result. Also,
> can you spend fortune?

No glory for that and you cannot spend fortune.


Spoilers from Box 3:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
> 7) Are Tombs land sites? We ruled yes.

Yes they are.

> 8) One Tomb result says "gain 4 glory". That's actually 5 glory, right?
> Or maybe just 4, since endeavors in the captain's log don't give
> glory by default?

It’s supposed to be 4. It subsumes the glory for the endeavor. Sloppy on my part. Also not a big deal if it is ruled the other way as long as it is consistent.

> 9) We've only found one tomb so far, but generally, can you use
> fortune in tombs? Maybe they will all specify. Tombs don't look
> like dangerous sites (which makes me think fortune is ok), but
> tombs are described in the captain's log, which makes me think
> not ok to use fortune (by default no fortune).

You can use fortune. They used to be dangerous sites but that was way too brutal

> 10) Tablets are basically used once per game, right? (Or maybe 0 times)

Correct.

> 11) For the upgrades that give glory during the winter, when in
> the winter do they give it? It matters relative to activating
> colonies, which could also cause someone to win.

Let’s say start of winter.

> 12) colonies: I build a colony. I name it. Next game, ...
> A) I still have that colony, right? (But I will have to activate it for 6 gold)
> B) once I activate it, I won't get the 2 gold from the field this winter,
> but next winter, I will. Right?
> C) once I activate it, I can take a good from the island the same winter I
> activate it. Right? And on my first turn, I could use that good to discount
> the purchase of a structure or treasure. Right?

Right.
Right.
Right. **COMMENT FROM IRA: Based on discussion in this thread, it's likely that this third "Right" isn't fully right, since treasures can clearly only be discounted by goods in the province warehouse, per game rules. So I'm assuming Rob was confirming that the good could be used to discount a structure on the colony, but the normal rules still apply to treasure.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No fortune tokens in Uncharted Waters? That's unexpected.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5  Next »   | 
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.