Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
1 Posts

Runebound (Second Edition)» Forums » Variants

Subject: Banner of the Unicorn rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Darrell Pavitt
United Kingdom
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rubbish, ain't it?

As many have discovered, the Banner of the Unicorn is more or less worthless. In order to place a token on the card, you must discard a "discard to use " armor item. There are only two such items in the game, which makes the chance of having the three tokens required to activate it's special activity astronomically small.

Even worse, the special ability "if you have 3 tokens on this card, you may possess one armor item of each type" is completely worthless if you use the variant: item limits rule in the main rulebook (and I can't see any logical reason why you could own only a helmet or a shield, not both).

This is my reworded version of this card. It is considerably more powerful, but no more so than the other banners:

Each time you activate an armor item to use it's special effects, place 1(token) on this card.
Any time you would activate an armor item in order to use it's special effects, you may discard 1(token) from this card instead.
As long as there are at least 3 (tokens) on this card, you may activate a discard-to-use armor item to use it's special effects instead of discarding it.


Note, you only get a new token if you actually activate the card, not if you spend a token to do so instead (no infinite activations!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.