Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Twilight Struggle» Forums » Rules

Subject: Few questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Igor Persin
Croatia
flag msg tools
Avatar
Hi
Me and my gf played our first TS game yesterday, liked it a lot, although we had a fight in a middle of game, and had to stop game because we had to go to lunch...

1. In headline phase, you sellect one card, whose event will happen. If it's event that requires you to roll a dice in order to happen, you still have to roll a dice, right? Or does the event automatically happen as if you rolled enough, but you don't roll dice?

2. When both player play cards, player with highest points on cards, goes first this round, in case of tie, US always goes first,right?

3.Cards that cancel enemy event that he played , can't remember how is it called now. What if I selected this card, and enemy selected my card and wants to use it for points. Then I can only use this card for points as well, because I don't wanna cancel event that is afiliated with me. It only works if I select this card, and enemy selects one of the cards for his side?
OR we both played card for this turn, and then, I can somehow play this card after I see that enemy played some good eventfor him, which I want to cancel?

This is all I can remember at this moment. There were probably some other things.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Pierce
United States
St. Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
smurfORnot wrote:

1. In headline phase, you sellect one card, whose event will happen. If it's event that requires you to roll a dice in order to happen, you still have to roll a dice, right? Or does the event automatically happen as if you rolled enough, but you don't roll dice?


You still roll the dice. The event just takes place so you follow the instructions on the card.

smurfORnot wrote:
2. When both player play cards, player with highest points on cards, goes first this round, in case of tie, US always goes first,right?


This is true for the headline phase. Both players select a card to play and they are revealed at the same time. The card with the higher ops value happens first. In case of a tie, the US card goes first. For the normal turns, players take turns each playing one card at a time, starting with the USSR.

smurfORnot wrote:
3.Cards that cancel enemy event that he played , can't remember how is it called now. What if I selected this card, and enemy selected my card and wants to use it for points. Then I can only use this card for points as well, because I don't wanna cancel event that is afiliated with me. It only works if I select this card, and enemy selects one of the cards for his side?
OR we both played card for this turn, and then, I can somehow play this card after I see that enemy played some good eventfor him, which I want to cancel?


You seem to be confused on the rules. A card whose event cancels the other player's played event will only do that during the Headline phase. This is the only phase of the game where players are each selecting a card to play at the same time. On a normal turn, each player will play a card one at a time and decide to use the event, space race it, or to use it for ops. If they play an opponents card for the ops (or the event which would not happen), the event will still take place. The player that played the card decides if the event resolves first or if they use their ops first.

The headline phase is special. Cards can only be used for their event, so you will never use a card just for its ops value (unless the event lets you do that). The card "Defectors" is a US event that will cancel the USSR headline card. They can headline this in the hopes of ruining the USSR's plans by making the event on their headline card not activate.

Does that make sense?
11 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carlos Santos
Portugal
Porto
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'll answer your 2nd question first.

2. In the headline phase both players will play one card each (this is not optional). The highest operation points card is resolved first and in case of a tie US goes first.
Note that this is only true for the headline phase, after that you take normal AR turns starting by the URSS.

Now on to your 1st question.

1. After checking which event will be triggered first (answer is above) you resolve the card effect as if it was played normally (dice rolls and everything else).
Keep in mind that the player that played the card is considered the phasing player, so be careful not to cause nuclear war.

3. You're probably talking about the card "Defectors", this card is a US event that will cancel the USSR headline card. This is the only exception to the normal order rule stated above, if played by the US in the headline phase will cancel the URSS card even if the URSS card has higher ops.
Also note this card doesn't give you any operations points and simply cancels the event card played by the URSS (this is also true if the URSS played plays a US event as headline).

Now an overall clarification.

During the Headline phase you both choose one card face down and reveal them simultaneously. During Action Rounds you play and resolve ops and/or events alternating the order (but URSS always goes first). During action rounds you don't select cards like headline phase, you chose one card and resolve it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Igor Persin
Croatia
flag msg tools
Avatar
Thanks a lot!
We have been playing wrong then. For each phase, we selected cards simultaneously and reveald them. Okay So after headline phase. First USSR will play and resolve one card. Then US player will play and resovle his card. Then again USSR sees what US player played, so he can play his card.
As we played it at same time, when one player selected score, other player would just use his card that he sellected for points before scoring was made and try to 'fuck' scoring that other player was trying to get in his favor.
This has much more sense now.
Okay, so every turn till the game ends, after headline, USSR plays first, then US.

I am looking forward to next game for weekend!

Hopefully this time we won't have big fight in the middle of the game,lol
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mattias Elfström
Sweden
Unspecified
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Check the rulebook page 4 rule 4.5C&D.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Drazen
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
A card whose event cancels the other player's played event will only do that during the Headline phase


Technically true, but as the original poster's question was a bit garbled...

There are some events which cancel ongoing (underlined) events. For example, Quagmire cancels NORAD (if it is active). However, it doesn't prevent it - if the Quagmire event happens first, and the NORAD event happens later, NORAD will be in effect for the whole game (as Quagmire gets removed when activated and does not repeat).

An Evil Empire both cancels and prevents Flower Power. So if Flower Power is active, An Evil Empire ends the ongoing event. But if Flower Power is not active, the Flower Power card essentially becomes a neutral 4 Op card with "No Event." This also applies to the combinations "An Iron Lady/Socialist Governments (3)" and "Camp David Accords/Arab-Israeli War (2)."

Defectors (the card I think the original post is referring to) only cancels events in the headline phase. More specifically, a USA play of Defectors cancels the USSR headline (even if Defectors has a lower Ops value than the USSR headline!).

The USSR can technically headline Defectors, but it cancels their own headlined event, which was also Defectors, and thus nothing happens in that case, except maybe an infinite logical paradox of the USSR canceling their own cancellation.

For the regular turns, players alternate playing cards, and cannot do anything on their opponent's Action Round (unless the opponent plays one of their events which lets them add influence or conduct operations, somewhere other than the space race -- for example, if the USA plays Warsaw Pact on its AR, the USSR gets to execute the event, though the USA chooses whether it is before or after they use the Operations Points).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carlos Santos
Portugal
Porto
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
smurfORnot wrote:
Hopefully this time we won't have big fight in the middle of the game,lol


Hopefully you WILL have a big fight, just a different and better kind of fight
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Igor Persin
Croatia
flag msg tools
Avatar
I got few more questions from last game.

If there is active card that adds +1/-1 when playing ops cards. In case for space race, if you need 2ops card for it, then you actually need 3ops card, if event that adds -1 to enemy ops cards is active, right?
Or in case if US has +1 on its ops cards, and ussr plays that 1ops card that also becomes 1ops card for us player when played from ussr player, then it would grant US player 2ops to spend because all his cards are +1 ops this round?

When defcon is preventing coups in Asia, that doesn't translate to south east asia? Meaning that you can still do coups in south east asia?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark L
Singapore
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, Containment/Red Scare will affect Space Race requirements as well as requirements for cards such as Blockade.

DEFCON restrictions in Asia include South-East Asia as well, so you may not conduct coups in all countries in Asia. Just like how restrictions affecting Europe affect both Western and Eastern Europe.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carlos Santos
Portugal
Porto
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
smurfORnot wrote:
If there is active card that adds +1/-1 when playing ops cards. In case for space race, if you need 2ops card for it, then you actually need 3ops card, if event that adds -1 to enemy ops cards is active, right?
Or in case if US has +1 on its ops cards, and ussr plays that 1ops card that also becomes 1ops card for us player when played from ussr player, then it would grant US player 2ops to spend because all his cards are +1 ops this round?

When defcon is preventing coups in Asia, that doesn't translate to south east asia? Meaning that you can still do coups in south east asia?


Operations modifiers such as Red Scare Purge apply to all operation requirements, including the space race.
So you're correct when saying that going for a 2 ops space race you'll actually need a 3 ops cards.

As for the DEFCON restrictions, all restrictions to Asia include Southeast Asia.
If DEFCON is at 2 or 3 you can't conduct coups or realignments in ANY Asian country including the ones in Southeast Asia.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.