Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Duel of Ages II» Forums » Rules

Subject: +1 Speed bonus rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Hedges
United Kingdom
Penrith
Cumbria
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The speed bonus from Labyrinths applies to characters of the correct age, but does it also apply to their mounts/vehicles?

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe so. You can use a Mount to get its Speed bonus or replace your default Speed, and then on top of that you can also get the +1 from the labyrinth.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Hedges
United Kingdom
Penrith
Cumbria
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Cheers David
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Kessel
United States
Beaverton
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmb
I wouldn't think so. The other stat labyrinth bonuses bump the character's stats: honor, strength, wits, etc. I would think the +1 speed would also be to the character's speed stat, not the stat of a mount.

I'd been treating them similar to an XP marker or a level up, which affect the character's base stat. A mount replaces the base stat.

A similar question would occur with body armor and the Alt Labyrinth +2 armor bonus. Body armor gives you a set armor, replacing your armor value, similar in function to a mount replacing your speed.

And I guess a similar question would apply to Napoleon's +1 speed bonus?

Maybe Brett will chime in with something authoritative.


1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ckessel wrote:
A mount replaces the base stat.


I don't have all of the cards in front of me, but this doesn't entirely match my recollection. I think some mounts replace the character's Speed, while others modify it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Kessel
United States
Beaverton
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmb
DaviddesJ wrote:
ckessel wrote:
A mount replaces the base stat.


I don't have all of the cards in front of me, but this doesn't entirely match my recollection. I think some mounts replace the character's Speed, while others modify it.

True, I think there are some sneakers that give +1 movement. Similarly with armor, some are a modifier and some replace.

If it's a replace, then I wouldn't think the labyrinth bonuses applies. If it's an augment, then I think it would apply. But that's just my gut feel on it, I can't find anything in the rules that seems definitive.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.