Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Five Tribes» Forums » Variants

Subject: Possible Palaces & Oasis Variant rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Robert Manore
United States
Colorado Springs
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Warlord beats Troll, Troll beats Elf, Elf beats Water Sprite, and basically everything else beats Enchanted Bunny.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
CAVEAT: I have the updated English printing that came with Fakirs already inside the box.

On the player aid it has the symbol of the Oasis with a triangle pointing to 3 VPs. The same goes for the Palace with a triangle pointing to 5 VPs.

However, the rulebook has a front slash inside the triangle. I have always taken the front slash as meaning "either/or." The rulebook clearly states that the action is ignored if the supply runs out. However, what if a player was able to take 3 VPs or 5 VPs in the form of GCs rather than placing a Palace or Oasis token? Or receiving GCs if the supply ran out?

I am not sure if this would imbalance the game, but seeing that little front slash made me curious. I would love to hear any comments of what other geeks think. I have only played the game a couple times now and I may not be seeing the upside or downside of such a variant. Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Burgess
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Placing a palace or a tree doesn't necessarily benefit the player that places it - you have to also own the tile it's placed on at the end of the game. So taking coins instead wouldn't work because the player would benefit (and in such a way that could be spent!) when perhaps they shouldn't.

Maybe you could think about placing the coins on the tile instead, as an indicator of points only, but I think the limitation of these components is supposed to be part of the game.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.