Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Tavarua» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can you catch a barrel wave? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
James Schultz
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rules say "if you successfully ride a barrel you will earn a barrel token".

What if you CATCH the barrel wave? Do you get the token?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
js3b wrote:
Rules say "if you successfully ride a barrel you will earn a barrel token".

What if you CATCH the barrel wave? Do you get the token?


On page 9, in "Riding a Barrel", it says: "When a barrel wave card is revealed, your played card (for a ride/catch action) is compared to the revealed value of the barrel card."

We had the same question, and figured the answer is that yes, you get the token in a catch, if you are successful.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg R.
United States
Indian Trail
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
noisycrow wrote:
js3b wrote:
Rules say "if you successfully ride a barrel you will earn a barrel token".

What if you CATCH the barrel wave? Do you get the token?


On page 9, in "Riding a Barrel", it says: "When a barrel wave card is revealed, your played card (for a ride/catch action) is compared to the revealed value of the barrel card."

We had the same question, and figured the answer is that yes, you get the token in a catch, if you are successful.


That's how I play it. You also get a Stoke token for the catch and a Perfect if the wave die and break number match.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cody Miller
United States
Oregon
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
js3b wrote:
Rules say "if you successfully ride a barrel you will earn a barrel token".

What if you CATCH the barrel wave? Do you get the token?


Yes! You would still get the barrel token!

-Cody (Designer)
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Bender
United States
Minneapolis
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
js3b wrote:
Rules say "if you successfully ride a barrel you will earn a barrel token".

What if you CATCH the barrel wave? Do you get the token?


Just to be clear, you will already be IN the wave when it becomes a barrel since "catch"-ing a wave is a phase 2 ("resolve") action and the wave becoming a barrel is a phase 3 event.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cody Miller
United States
Oregon
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
spbtc wrote:
js3b wrote:
Rules say "if you successfully ride a barrel you will earn a barrel token".

What if you CATCH the barrel wave? Do you get the token?


Just to be clear, you will already be IN the wave when it becomes a barrel since "catch"-ing a wave is a phase 2 ("resolve") action and the wave becoming a barrel is a phase 3 event.


Right, basically this!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gláucio Reis
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro
RJ
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
But does the played card affect your balance when you use it to catch a barrel?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Baker Odom
United States
Bluffton
South Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
GSReis wrote:
But does the played card affect your balance when you use it to catch a barrel?


Yes when Riding or Catching a wave the player card will always affect your balance.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gláucio Reis
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro
RJ
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I realize that now. I was under the impression that the played card was only compared to the barrel value, but I see that this occurs in a different phase. I assume playing a "4" to avoid a barrel also affects your balance, right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Baker Odom
United States
Bluffton
South Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
GSReis wrote:
I realize that now. I was under the impression that the played card was only compared to the barrel value, but I see that this occurs in a different phase. I assume playing a "4" to avoid a barrel also affects your balance, right?


Correct.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.