Popular Tags: [View All]
Brett Baumgarten
United States
Oshkosh
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I've played a bunch of games against the Automa, and a couple of 3-player games. This is my first time with a full board, and boy did it fill up quickly. I was Rusviet with the Engineering board. Crimea and Nordic had both played, while Polania and Saxony were both playing for the first time. Early on, I went for the fast factory play, surprising the other players with how quickly I reached it, while also playing my first star for completing Objective #22, "Technological Breakthrough," having 1 Factory card and 0 upgrades.

For my factory card, I chose #18, which allows you to trade 2 different resources for an enlist or upgrade. When I was looking at the board state and potential future plans, this seemed like the best option, but in retrospect it was almost certainly sub-optimal because I believe I only used it once all game. Whether that was because I didn't use it as well as I could have, or just made a poor choice will be up to the historians to debate.

Crimea placed an early star by getting all 8 workers and used them to heap up food for some early recruits. Nordic workers were swimming across frigid rivers and producing things. Polania had a slow start, but worked towards reaching as many encounters as possible without being too focused on it. Saxony was a bit baffling, and I think the inexperience showed, as it took a while to get those mechs out and moving around.

With my mobility, workers, and mechs, I made some aggressive moves to put myself next to enemy territories, hoping that the potential popularity loss would intimidate people into leaving me alone. Not one to be dissuaded, Saxony sent in a mech, only to be repelled, earning me another star. I worked on upgrading my Build action to reduce the cost to a single paltry wood and made sure to keep the endgame bonus of having structures next to tunnels in mind when placing them.