Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Allegiance: A Realm Divided» Forums » Rules

Subject: clarification on attackers and defenders rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
j y
msg tools
the rulebook specifically mention that it is too late to exhaust an attacker after attackers are declared, what about destroying it?

is an attacker destroyed after declaring as attacker count as attacking unit? (relevant for deciding conquering charge)

does it does combat damage to hero/defender?

similarly for defender, if i use slaver to defend against an unit, then as a reaction before battle damage is resolved, i activate its ability to destroy itself, do i gain 2 gold and NOT take the attacker dmg? does that blocked attacker take dmg from slaver in this case?

for exhausting a unit, am i still allowed to play paralyzing fear on an exhausted unit/attacker such that it cannot untap next turn?

if paralyzing fear is cast on an unit, and then vitalising elixir is cast on it, such that it need not refresh on the refresh phase, does the paralyzing fear effect carry over to the next refresh phase?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Underground Games
msg tools
publisher
Avatar
istaris wrote:
the rulebook specifically mention that it is too late to exhaust an attacker after attackers are declared, what about destroying it?

is an attacker destroyed after declaring as attacker count as attacking unit? (relevant for deciding conquering charge)


The unit was an attacking unit, but is no longer considered an attacking unit after it's destroyed. This means that the unit won't count towards Conquering Charge if it is not in play at the time battle damage is dealt.

istaris wrote:
does it does combat damage to hero/defender?


A unit that attacked and was then destroyed does not deal any combat damage. The unit has to be in play in order to deal combat damage.

istaris wrote:
similarly for defender, if i use slaver to defend against an unit, then as a reaction before battle damage is resolved, i activate its ability to destroy itself, do i gain 2 gold and NOT take the attacker dmg? does that blocked attacker take dmg from slaver in this case?


If a defending unit is destroyed before damage, the attacking unit is still considered defended against, and will not deal combat damage to the defending hero. Since there is no defender in play when combat damage occurs, the attacking unit will not deal nor receive combat damage that battle.

Also note that Slaver says "another target unit", so it cannot destroy itself with its own ability.

istaris wrote:
for exhausting a unit, am i still allowed to play paralyzing fear on an exhausted unit/attacker such that it cannot untap next turn?


Yes you can play Paralyzing Fear on a unit that is already exhausted. Exhausting an already exhausted unit doesn't have any effect, but the no-refresh part of the card will still affect the unit.

istaris wrote:
if paralyzing fear is cast on an unit, and then vitalising elixir is cast on it, such that it need not refresh on the refresh phase, does the paralyzing fear effect carry over to the next refresh phase?


Paralyzing Fear's effect always happens on the next refresh phase that unit goes through. If the unit happens to be refreshed because of some other effect, then Paralyzing Fear's no-refresh effect won't do anything and will be lost. It does not carry over to a subsequent turn after that.

Cheers,

Underground Games
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Henrik Schmidt
Germany
Kiel
flag msg tools
Designer of Titans of Steel - www.titansofsteel.de
badge
Designer of Titans of Steel - www.titansofsteel.de
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:

The unit was an attacking unit, but is no longer considered an attacking unit after it's destroyed. This means that the unit won't count towards Conquering Charge if it is not in play at the time battle damage is dealt.


Quote:
If a defending unit is destroyed before damage, the attacking unit is still considered defended against, and will not deal combat damage to the defending hero.


What is the ratio behind handling attackers and defenders slightly differently in case they are destroyed before damage ?

The attacker is not counting towards conquering charge but the defender is still counting as a hero defender.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Underground Games
msg tools
publisher
Avatar
LarkinVB wrote:
What is the ratio behind handling attackers and defenders slightly differently in case they are destroyed before damage ?

The attacker is not counting towards conquering charge but the defender is still counting as a hero defender.


On page 21 of the rulebook, in the "Assign Defenders" section, it says:

"Once a defender has been assigned to an attacker, the attacker is considered to have been defended against, and will no longer deal damage to the defending hero. This remains true even if the defending unit is removed from play by some effect after it is assigned as a defender, but before battle damage is dealt."

The defender essentially distracted and stopped the attacker, even if it didn't live long enough to deal damage.

With regards to why a destroyed attacker no longer counts towards Conquering Charge, it's because of the way the ability is worded. The ability says "While units you control are attacking...", which means it is always in effect during the battle and always changing to be equal to the number of attacking units there current is.

If Conquering Charge was worded to say "When units you control attack, they gain +X...", then it would be a trigger that happens only when they attack, and only count the number once at that point.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Henrik Schmidt
Germany
Kiel
flag msg tools
Designer of Titans of Steel - www.titansofsteel.de
badge
Designer of Titans of Steel - www.titansofsteel.de
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks ! Great game and great support.

Looking forward to a 'legendary units' expansion !
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Underground Games
msg tools
publisher
Avatar
LarkinVB wrote:
Thanks ! Great game and great support.

Looking forward to a 'legendary units' expansion !


Glad to help! Thanks so much for all your enthusiastic support for the game!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Edwin Lam
msg tools
What happen if a defender is exhausted by Paralayzed Fear,after being assigned as defender?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
C B
United States
Twin Cities
Minnesota
flag msg tools
flying
badge
dutchman
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Blackscreamerz wrote:
What happen if a defender is exhausted by Paralayzed Fear,after being assigned as defender?

Once a defender is assigned, the attacker has been defended against. If the defender becomes exhausted, then no battle takes place and the attacker does not damage the hero.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Yeoh
msg tools
I believe once the defender is assigned, the battle will take place. The battle will only not take place if the unit is removed from play.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
C B
United States
Twin Cities
Minnesota
flag msg tools
flying
badge
dutchman
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
xerial wrote:
I believe once the defender is assigned, the battle will take place. The battle will only not take place if the unit is removed from play.

Clarification. Once the defender is announced, there is another chance for reactions.
But, thinking it over, you may be right, if at this point it doesn't matter that the defender is exhausted.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Yeoh
msg tools
Yeap, just like how you could use an archer, defend against a unit, then use it's ability to shoot thus exhausting it, then let the attacker and defender deal damage to each other
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.