$15.00
$20.00
$5.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Eldritch Horror» Forums » Rules

Subject: Voice of Azathoth and "advance the mystery" rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Harold Heald
United States
Oviedo
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, searching forums isn't answering my specific question so hoping my fellow investigators at BGG can.

Voice of Azathoth: spend clues equal to half # of investigators and discard requiem artifact to solve mystery.

Funding condition resolution: advance the current mystery by one or X. I can't remember the other option right now.

Does the funding condition resolution require spending of clues and discarding of requiem at that moment or is the mystery advanced, in this two player scenario that means solved, without spending clues or discarding artifacts?

Thanks!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M.C.Crispy
United Kingdom
Basingstoke
Hampshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Look on the rules for the expansion from which the component comes, what you will find
Quote:
This expansion introduces a new mechanic: “advance the active
Mystery.” Due to the complexity of Mysteries, this can result in
a number of different effects. When investigators are instructed
to advance the active Mystery, the active investigator resolves
one of the following effects that applies:
^ If the active Mystery requires one or more tokens to be placed
on the card, place one token of that type on the card.
• Clues, Gates, and Monsters placed on the active Mystery
in this way are drawn from the Clue pool, Gate stack, and
Monster cup, respectively.
^ If the active Mystery requires an Epic Monster to be defeated,
place two Health on the card. The Epic Monster’s toughness
is reduced by one for each Health on the active Mystery.
^ If the active Mystery requires an investigator to spend one
or more Clues, place one Clue from the Clue pool on the
card. Any investigator may spend Clues placed on the active
Mystery when resolving an effect of that car
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Magister Germanicus
United States
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
MCCrispy's anwswer is spot on and straight from the rule books.

Let me just add, that it has also been discussed on numerous threads here and is unfortunately not addressed in the rule books, that if your active mystery requires you to have a specific Artifact you do not yet have, you could also use the Advance the Active Mystery mechanic to receive said Artifact.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Krzysiek Domański
Poland
Wrocław
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
GermanTodd wrote:
Let me just add, that it has also been discussed on numerous threads here and is unfortunately not addressed in the rule books, that if your active mystery requires you to have a specific Artifact you do not yet have, you could also use the Advance the Active Mystery mechanic to receive said Artifact.
It's not clear enough that you're describing a house rule.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Magister Germanicus
United States
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I wasn't clear because I didn't think this was a house rule. It seems like common sense to me.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Krzysiek Domański
Poland
Wrocław
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
GermanTodd wrote:
I wasn't clear because I didn't think this was a house rule. It seems like common sense to me.
While common sense is very useful, it doesn't affect whether the rule is an official one or a house rule.
As far as I know many players like to try out the game with official rules, before they choose which house rules they like. To do that they need to clearly know which ones are official.

Also:
Every Mystery that requires an artifact, also has some other requirements which are eligible for the "advance mystery effect" so it's not like you don't have an official option to advance these mysteries.
Granting an investigator the needed artifact is an interesting idea, maybe even a good one, but calling this idea a "common sense" is a bit of an exaggeration.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan Probst
Germany
Kiel
Schleswig Holstein
flag msg tools
GermanTodd wrote:
I didn't think this was a house rule. It seems like common sense to me.

Some of the worst excesses of houseruling appear to have such origin. surprise
3 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George Aristides
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
^ If the active Mystery requires an investigator to spend one
or more Clues, place one Clue from the Clue pool on the
card. Any investigator may spend Clues placed on the active
Mystery when resolving an effect of that card


Effectively, advancing this mystery will place a clue token on the mystery card.

Then, once you have the requiem artifact, when you spend the clues equal to half # of investigators, you can use the "free clue" from the mystery card that was placed there when advancing the mystery.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.